Broccoli Stuffing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2003
I made a lot of alterations, but I decided to write for those who try to "healthy-up" the recipes here. I used 2 bunches fresh broccoli, added 3 squash, and steamed. Used low-fat soup, and fat-free sour cream replaced the mayo. No cheese, and Italian breadcrumbs sprinkled instead of the mix. Instead of butter, I sprayed the top with "I Can't Believe..." butter spray. Even this way, it's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2005
So easy and really good, everybody loved it with Christmas dinner. My alterations: I doubled the recipe, but kept the mayo the same as with the original recipes, mixed the broccoli in with everything else instead of layering, and used crushed Ritz crackers on top instead of stuffing mix. Awesome! The doubled recipe only took the same amount of time as the original recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam Ciccone Kershaw

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2001
Loved it! Will make again! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
This was pretty good. It goes together quickly, and the taste was great. I used fresh broccoli rather than frozen. I just threw it in the bottom of the dish and then added the rest of the ingredients. I also didn't add as much mayonnaise, and I didn't add butter to the topping. I used whole wheat crackers for the topping instead of stuffing due to dietary needs. Don't be afraid to experiment with this one to suit your tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Coupeville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
I love this because it is nice as it is, but also so easy to modify for your own taste. Also easy to modify and make healthier without losing to much in flavor. This is a keeper. P.S. Every time I have served this, no matter what the changes, everyone loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rose

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beaver Falls, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
I also made this to be very healthy. I used fat free shredded cheddar cheese, fat free mayo, egg substitute, 98% fat free cream of mushroom soup and the fat free butter spray. As I was mixing it, I was afraid it was going to be too dry, so I added about 1 and 1/2 c. of chicken boullion. My guests loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
Had super high hopes for this recipe.. wasn't bad..just didn't live up. Will try again with slight tweeks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Warren, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
I rated this a one because my niece, nephew, and dtr liked it. I must have done something wrong. The stuffing was very dry on top of the broccoli. The mixture was clumpy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
This dish is amazing! I used fresh steamed broccoli & made my own stuffing from Nine Grain Wheat Bread using this recipe: http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Basic-Bread-Stuffing/Detail.aspx?prop31=2 I also used extra sharp cheddar. Beyond that, I followed the recipe exactly and it turned out to be so delicious and satisfying!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ALFANN02
Reviewed: May 31, 2009
Edible but nothing i will make again. Used fresh broccoli that i blanched for a few mins but other than that followed the recipe. The stuffing topping stayed crunchy, like croutons, and the soup/cheese mixture wasnt creamy or cheesy enough. I think prepared stuffing should be spread over top and baked for the last 15 mins. I may play around with this one and attempt it again but wont make it as written again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALFANN02

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Broccoli Casserole

This easy casserole may become a staple at your holiday table.

Broccoli Rice Casserole

See how to make a creamy, cheesy classic.

Easy Broccoli Salad

Watch Chef John make an easy, healthy broccoli side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States