Broccoli Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
This is oh so lovely! One potato was perfect for me. I can't imagine how thick it would be if a second potato was added. Not sure why so many people are skipping on the nutmeg. I thought it was a nice touch. Don't go crazy and add a bunch of "extras" to this soup, unless its spices though I didn't think it was needed. It totally defeats the purpose of this being a low calorie soup! A little fresh hot pepper is a nice kick if you want some heat. Oh, and since I'm the only person who seems to do the da** dishes in this house, I just used a potato masher instead of adding the pain of taking apart and cleaning the blender. I started mashing 13 mins into the cooking and allowed the soup to simmer and thicken for another 5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
This was wonderful! I was a little apprehensive about it, but with no reason to be. I loved the flavor and texture. I followed the recipe, except to leave out the nutmeg (I am not a fan) and to add a bit of sage and thyme (per other reviews). Not at all disappointed. Will recommend to friends and family!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patti Jo L.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fultonville, New York, USA
Living In: Marion, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
Used fresh broccoli (peeled stems), an extra potato, and added 2 cups of water to the broth. I just roughly chopped all the ingredients and threw everything into a pressure cooker - at 15psi for 10 minutes. Served with fresh grated parmesan on top. Fast and DELICIOUS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
I bit bland. I added some tarragon as well. Turned out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Cleveland Heights, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
This soup is healthy, simple yet very delicious! I used fresh broccoli, 1/4 cup of milk at the end of cooking and added some shredded mozzarella cheese and crackers when served it! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
Quick,easy, healthy and budget-friendly! What else can you ask for. I use fresh broccoli when it is available. I also use a blend of vegetable broth and chicken broth. Just love this recipe. Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glace Bay, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Sydney, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
This was a good soup - heathy and full of flavor. My only complaint is that since it makes so much you can eat it for a couple of days (there is only 2 of us). By the third day you no longer look forward to eating the soup. Other then that it was good. Tastes healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Kapolei, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
yum! this was sooo simple and good! I used two fresh broccoli heads and added 2 extra garlic cloves and one more cup of stock. I didn't have potato on had, so I used 1 tablespoon instant mashed potatoes. This was really good! Very comforting and delicious, not to mention healthy! I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2011
a great and easy soup. we loved it. i did it exactly as is, used a large potato as advised by reviewers. i used fresh broccoli. it was a little thick so i added some milk. loved it, will do this again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nevine Abaza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cairo, Al-Qahirah, Egypt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2011
I have made this twice in the past two weeks! I add an extra potato, omitted the nutmeg, added white pepper and a little Velveeta (I had some that I had to use up). The first batch I used broccoli cuts, and ended up with little "strings" in the soup after I blended it. Second batch I used just frozen florets and this problem was eliminated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 205) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Best Cream of Broccoli Soup

See how to make a simple, quick homemade broccoli soup recipe.

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States