Broccoli Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
Simple to make, healthy and tasty. I have noticed that recipes that contain only nutmeg for seasoning usually are kind of bland, as some people have commented. So instead of nutmeg I added tyme and crushed bay leaves, as well as crushed chillis because I need my soups to be spicy!!! An excellent recipe for those watching their weight, but I wouldn't make it the centre of dinner. Great quick lunch for work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jules

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
delicious and I would give it a 5 star
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Claudette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lower Coverdale, New Brunswick, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
doubled potatoes, used fresh broccoli - loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dranoel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
This definitely was a tasty soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
I was very disappointed in this soup and my husband did not care for it. Will have to doctor what is left if we are going to eat it. He said it definitely tastes low calorie and would never make it in a restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
I had to doctor this soup up with Greek yogurt, Swiss cheese, & Dijon mustard. If you’re going to use this recipe then skip the nutmeg, skip the potato, & add more onion, garlic & maybe some celery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
Very good, easy to prepare soup! This one is going in to my winter recipe collection :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
Easy and delicious. I sub vegetable broth, add a little more garlic, and a bay leaf. Remove the bay leaf before you puree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
After reading some great & some not so great reviews, I decided to give this soup a try even though my first impression of the ingredients did not appeal to me. Should have stuck with my first impression because I found it very bland, and watery. I used fresh broccoli which may have affected it some and left out the nutmeg. After doctoring it up with some cream, cheddar cheese, and butter and also thickening it with some flour, it was much better. This one is not a keeper for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
I am not a picky eater, adore ALL vegetables and have loved almost every recipe I haved tried from this website, but this one is lacking. I agree with others who've said it is bland. I made a big pot of this soup and seriously thought it might end up down the drain. Yuk. Started doctoring it up and finally got it to a place where it has a pleasing flavor. My additions? A tablespoon or two of butter, 1/2 cup of milk, some garlic powder, onion powder, a splash of soy sauce. a splash of lemon juice, some cajun and creole seasoning to give it some bite and a good shake of parmesean cheese. I think I would also skip the nutmeg if I ever made it again. I've seen other recipes here for Cream of Broccoli soup and think I'll make one of those next time I have a lot of broccoli I want to use up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 205) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Best Cream of Broccoli Soup

See how to make a simple, quick homemade broccoli soup recipe.

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States