Broccoli Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2003
This is a great soup! I skipped the nutmeg and added fresh thyme instead. I also used 2 potatoes. Was great with a small amount of freshly shaven parmesan cheese as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
149 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2002
A very good and easy soup. I used a large baking potato, so the soup was nice and thick after blending. Also, I didn't add the thawed broccoli until the potato was already tender, and just cooked it a few minutes more so that the broccoli kept a nice green color and fresh flavor. My family, including my 9-yr. old son, really liked this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
96 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2005
I was worried after reading other reviews of this recipe but gave it a try anyhow because it looked so easy. It turned out terrific!! It was a little bland but I just added some chopped fresh sage and a little season salt and it turned out great! And you can't beat it for healthy. For my husband I stirred a 1/4 c of chopped proscuitto (you could use ham too) into his and he loved it. I also doubled the potato as per previous reviews here and I loved the thick texture. I will definitely put this in our monthly rotation - thanks Lon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2007
Greaet recipe! But boy, did I mess it up - I had very bad jetlag and decided to make this at 2a.m. since I could not sleep - I must have been really zoning as I did NOT sautee the onions and garlic - I just threw everything in a pot and started cooking :-) It turned out great!! As far as I am concerned if you can mess up the receipe and it still turns out well, it's a keeper :) Used veggie broth instead of chicken and fresh broccoli. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BluJaysGal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
This recipe rocks, especially if you're obsessed with soup like I am! It's totally easy and totally tweakable. I used fresh broccoli, two small red potatoes with the skins on, and omitted the nutmeg (had none in the house). I also threw some reduced-fat white cheddar cheese in the bowl and it got all melty and delicious and tasted as good as the Panera broccoli cheddar I love but can no longer eat because it's awful for you. But even with the cheese this recipe is low-cal. Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2002
Wow! This is a fabulous, low-calorie soup - great for dieting. I used light margarine instead of olive oil, to save a few calories. I added a couple more potatoes, requiring me to add a little bit of water (in addition to the chicken broth), and since I only had 16 ounces of frozen broccoli, I used some fresh broccoli, as well. I also added 1/4 cup of half and half at the end, just to make it a little creamier. I wouldn't have touched this as a kid, but now that I have realized how wonderful broccoli truly is, I loved this soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2006
Fabulous Broccoli Soup! I too used fresh broccoli, omitted the nutmeg, and added red pepper flakes to give it some kick. Really adds to the flavor. I also used evaporated skim milk to make it creamier, but the potato pretty much does that on its own. Love this soup!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2006
This is SO GOOD and super easy! I added an extra small potato because other reviews said it was not thik enough and it was SO thick, I could have eaten it with a fork! But good, I also added 2 stalks celery. YUM YUM YUM! Will make again and again (with just one potato)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2005
Very good! I used vegetable broth instead of chicken because I'm a vegetarian. This soup is excellent for a low calorie soup. I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2002
Delicious! And FABULOUS for dieting! This is a hearty soup but very lite! Creamy consistency and rich in flavor without all the calories!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 209) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Best Cream of Broccoli Soup

See how to make a simple, quick homemade broccoli soup recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States