Broccoli Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2013
Loved the recipe. It is very similar to an old potato soup recipe I made when first married. Yes as a previous reviewer stated the nutmeg isn't for a nutmeg flavor. It is to enhance the other ingredients. I makes a world of difference in the final outcome of the whole recipe. I did make changes to the recipe for 2 different reasons. 1 is allergies. The other is available ingredients. I skipped the onions because my husband is allergic to them. I also skipped the broth. That was because I didn't have any on hand. Because of that I increased the amount of broccoli by 4 ounces to make sure of plenty of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SONYAWOOD

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
Well as written its SO BLAND- doctored it up (had to!) and it was very good. Had to add a 1/2 tsp nutmeg, 1 Tbs garlic powder, 2 tsp salt, 1/4 tsp black pepper and 2 triangles of laughing cow light cheese. Couple of tsp shredded parm and it was very palatable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrackFamily5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
I cut this in half and used fresh broccoli, but otherwise made it as written. It was quick, easy and absolutely delicious. I don't know why everyone is omitting the nutmeg, you don't really taste it.. it's there to enhance the other flavors, not to take center stage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aerisma

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
Couldn't eat it. I no longer trust the reviews. For more than 10 years I've been trying recipes from this site and many have been excellent--this one was not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
I used vegetable broth instead of chicken broth, I'm not sure that that's what would have made this soup so bland, though. Too bad I doubled the recipe because I had a lot of broccoli. I added about a cup of grated parmesan which kind of improved the flavour, but not by much. Sorry, wouldn't recommend this soup nor make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
Yum! Made some subs: fresh broccoli, 1 cup frozen corn, and no onions (had none in the house!). The corn added a little bit of sweetness, which I like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
We left ours chunky and added rice to our soup bowls before serving and it was so delicious and very filling. Love
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PTR

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
thick and creamy, great for a cold night, but i think it needs some spicing up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
This recipe is amazing and a great way to use up extra veggies before they go bad (or simply get your veggie dose in for the day). Don't add extra potatoes (I tried the recipe a few times) - adding an extra potato takes away from the broccoli flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 215) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Best Cream of Broccoli Soup

See how to make a simple, quick homemade broccoli soup recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States