Broccoli Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
Used 1 c sweet potatoes instead of white - used vegetable broth instead of chicken - GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aitkin, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
Good soup - not terrific but definitely good. Used an extra clove of garlic and added hot pepper flakes while the potatoes were cooking. Used fresh broccoli and cut the stem all the way up til the broccoli flowerettes separated, then cut the stem into small pieces. Cooked the stem pieces with the potato, then pureed it well. Then added half the flowerettes and quickly pureed it, then added the remaining flowerettes and cooked the soup an additional 5min. Be careful cooking the soup after it has been pureed, it can stick and burn in the bottom of the pot. Omitted the nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
Yummy:) I added a little bit of chilli flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Aycaydin
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
I did the same as "pamc" and so my soup was smooth and nice green. All of my family enjoyed eating it, saying its really good tasting. It is also healty liked this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aycaydin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
MARJORAM!! Replace the nutmeg with marjoram and this soup rises to a new level. My husband said it was the best soup I've ever made. I also followed the recommendation to add more potato to get a thicker consistency. It was fantastic! I am getting ready to make a double batch now because my husband and I ate the whole pot of soup in 2 days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cairo, Al-Qahirah, Egypt
Living In: Berlin, Berlin, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
Like others, I used fresh broccoli. I used 2 unpeeled potatoes and had to add another can of chicken broth. I used an immersion blender and seasoned with salt and pepper and had to agree with those who said it was bland. I added about 3/4 tsp. dried thyme leaves and stirred in about 2 tablespoons of light butter, and what a difference! I served it as an appetizer. My 15-year-old son, who is hesitant to try new things, said that he liked it. My husband went for another serving after dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fullerton, California, USA
Living In: Chula Vista, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ann Marie Natal
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
I tweaked this recipe to get a creamier and more flavorful result. The first thing I did differently was to use fresh broccoli as opposed to frozen. Also, I omitted the nutmeg and used thyme instead. I didn’t have chicken stock, so I used vegetable stock instead. It was finished with heavy cream and parmesan cheese for a creamy touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann Marie Natal

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
really easy and delicious soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
This recipe is a good base. I expanded on it a little....I had the chicken broth and also some left over chicken gravy and mashed potato, which was perfect for more flavor and the thickening agent. I love that it was so creamy smooth without any cream! I also added some baby bella mushrooms to the stock which upped the flavor some more. Steamed my fresh broccoli, then used some of the leftover water to stretch the broth, put it all in the vitamix and voila!! silky smooth, awesome flavor, I sauteed some of the baby bella's and some chantrelles to sprinkle of top when I served it. Also, saved a few sprigs of broccoli to place on top...added the nutmeg, just a hint of fresh grated and some thyme from the garden. This was good enough to write home about!:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 205) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Best Cream of Broccoli Soup

See how to make a simple, quick homemade broccoli soup recipe.

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States