Broccoli Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
Great soup. I use different variations of this formula with other vegetables. I blended broccoli with kale this time and used butter to cook down the onions instead of olive oil. I passed on the nutmeg though. Still excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefAl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
This really tasty and super easy! The only reason that I gave it 4 stars and not 5 is because after making it, I felt it was missing something. I added 1/8 cup grated parmesan and a sprinkle of cayenne (I halved the recipe so next time when I make the full recipe I will add 1/4 to 1/3 cup parm) and this took it to a 5 star recipe. Thanks! Can't wait for that family to try it. Also, omitted the nutmeg due to personal taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRSPARKERII

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dunedin, Florida, USA
Photo by tuscanos
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
Great soup !!! It is quick and feeling ... Will make it again ??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
The first time I made this soup I followed the recipe exactly as stated, it was good but was lacking in flavor. The second time I made it, I added half a teaspoon of thyme during the boiling process and added 1 teaspoon of lemon juice with the nutmeg, salt and pepper. It was awesome! the thyme added a nice woodsy flavor and the lemon brought just the right amount of tang I found the soup needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2014
This recipe clearly needs to be smoothed out using a conventional blender or an immersion one. Hand mixers don't work well. Also it is on the bland side. You can easily correct this by generously garnishing each bowl with shredded sharp cheddar cheese to taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by patriciafulda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scottsbluff, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: May 13, 2014
Great low calorie meal without sacrificing the taste! I substitute chicken broth with vegetable broth to make it a vegetarian version. Also, using less broth (about 3/4 suggested amount) makes the soup just the right consistency for me. My family loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Camarillo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2014
Made it exactly the way it said and it was great! I'm a big fan of cream soup but my husband doesn't like to mix cream and red wine so I was forced to find an alternative. It also freezes very well so it's great to have some in the freezer for unexpected guests or for a healthy quick meal or snack for the kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
Changed frozen broccoli to fresh and kept all other ingredients as is including the nutmeg. End result is a very thin soup that tastes like broccoli and chicken broth. Not very appealing. Cannot taste the nutmeg at all. Great if you are the kind of person that eats just because your body needs food and doesn't care about taste. One doesn't need a soup overloaded with creams and cheese, but this is like putting a bunch of grass in the blender. I'll freeze what I have until I figure out what to do with it. Not a repeat recipe. Healthy does not have to mean BLAND!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
good. The texture is creamy without any cream- just what I was looking for. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
Just made this soup last night. Used frozen broccoli and about 5 1/2 cups of chicken stock. Skipped the nutmeg and added a teaspoon of crushed red pepper flakes--because I like a little bit of heat with everything. I good sized medium potato thickened it up perfectly for me. I stirred a generous tablespoon of crumbled goat cheese in my soup. Yummy! This recipe will not replace the high caloric and fat cheesy broccoli soup. However, it is a delicious low cal, low fat soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 208) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Best Cream of Broccoli Soup

See how to make a simple, quick homemade broccoli soup recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States