Broccoli Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2008
I'm always looking for good recipes that don't use milk, since my husband is lactose intolerant, and can't do straight milk in a recipe. This recipe hit the spot. I added a little extra cheese, and a dash of oregano, pepper, and cayenne pepper. I cut the green part off of the green onions and put it on top of the soup and put the white part in with the garlic. A nice thick soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
This was really tasty, even without the cheddar cheese (I forgot to put it on, and we all loved it, including my in-laws and my 1-year old). I only pureed maybe half the soup to keep some chunks in there. The rice wasn't done in the 20 minutes- it needs more time. A couple days later, I made it again adding whole milk, chopped mushroom, and more broccoli and some spices (oregano, salt & pepper). Even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sally S.

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
This turned out to be a thick & hearty cream soup. Everyone loved it. (I saute`ed onion with the garlic for more flavor) I used the leftover soup to pour over linguini for a quick supper the next night, it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
I added an onion and used brown rice. This was delicious. I only pureed half so I would have some texture. As with any recipe I added salt and pepper to taste. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shantelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
my family loved this soup and I really wasnt sure if they would like it. I did add a little more salt and I did not puree 1 cup of the broccoli. I will definitely make this again! thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2005
AWSOME!My bf Andrew and I even made it together this brings loved ones togrther!!!!!!!!!!!!!~HP thee lovely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2005
Quite easy and pretty quick, too! Perfect for a wintery day. I also cut up and used the broccoli stalks. I would recommend using a low-sodium broth to reduce to salty taste. A spoon of sour cream would also be nice to add on top when serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: East Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2006
Simply wonderful! Serve with warm bread and you are set.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Homeward Hearts

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2006
OK i juuust made this. The reviews said it might seem a lil bland so i added two extra cloves of garlic, (i doubled the servings too btw) a tablespoon of black pepper, maybe a teaspoon of powdered onion, and about an extra half cup of cheese. This is sooo yummy. Ill definitely make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hot Springs, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Lilburn, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2006
Yum yum!! I love this recipe!! I added some salt to it and it's fantastic! I didn't blend the broccoli because I like it quite chunky. Also, I had no chicken broth so I replaced it with the same amount of vegetable stock and it's just great! A friend at work loved the smell, tried it and is making it for himself tonight! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shayna

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Best Cream of Broccoli Soup

See how to make a simple, quick homemade broccoli soup recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States