Broccoli Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
Changes that I made: -8 CLOVES OF GARLIC -1 ONION -BROWN RICE -A LOT OF OLD CHEDDAR CHEESE -PEPPER ABOUT 1/2 A TEASPOON didn't measure I love this recipe!!! Will continue to make it a long time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
Good. Needs Onion, cheese and sour creme.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Larry G Jones

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Butler, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 29, 2011
I liked this. I used leftover cooked rice and a few other random leftover veggies (onions, carrots, cauliflower)since I didn't have enough broccoli. Worked well. I just added the rice towards the end. You definitely need to add more broth and add spices if you don't want it to be too bland. I like that it doesn't call for velveeta or heavy cream. Blending the rice gave it a creamy consistency almost as if I added milk. I thought that was different. I will probably make it with leftover veggies and rice again to help clean out the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MI$$DREA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
Amazing soup and very easy to make! I am preparing this soup for a second time in less than two weeks! Tonight I doubled the recipe, adding only some yellow onion and I will use fresh Parmesan instead of cheddar just for fun. Thank you for this delicious soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
I used brown rice in this, so I simmered for 30 minutes, which is what my brown rice directions stated. Pureeing this makes it really thick, so add more broth if you aren't a fan of thick soups. I like thick soups, though, so it worked pretty well for me. I jazzed it up a little to make it less bland: I used more garlic than called for, added some onion powder, seasoned salt, and a dash of hot sauce. When I topped with the cheese I also topped with snipped chives. Very good! I made it just for myself (bf wasn't hungry at the time) but he took a bite and decided he wanted some. This really doesn't make a huge amount, but that's just fine for me since it's just the two of us. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2010
I added half an avocado to the blender stage for texture and used jasmine rice because that's what I had...it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Adrienne
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
We loved this meal! I added some onions, like some of the other people. It didn't make very much though, my husband and I ate the whole thing in one sitting. It could be doubled for guests. :) Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
I used too much broccoli in this one. Bland, mushy and separated!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
this was quick to make and turned out pretty yummy.i pretty much followed the recipe exactly except i added about 3 tbsp of parmesan cheese. the soup ended up being a little too thick so i added about a cup of milk while it was still in the food processor. i also set aside about 1/2 a cup of the cooked broccoli to add to stir in before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Cavanaugh

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Pompano Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
I was looking for a simple soup as I wasn't feeling well. 1st time I made it with brown rice & veggie stock. 2nd time w/ jasmine rice & chix stock & 1 medium onion as I was out of garlic. I make the rice (1/2-1cup uncooked) 1st in a rice cooker & use a 16oz bag of frozen broccoli. I use about 1 box of stock for the soup as I puree it. Can use more stock if you want for cooking the rice separately.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Best Cream of Broccoli Soup

See how to make a simple, quick homemade broccoli soup recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States