Broccoli Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
This turned out to be a thick & hearty cream soup. Everyone loved it. (I saute`ed onion with the garlic for more flavor) I used the leftover soup to pour over linguini for a quick supper the next night, it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2005
Quite easy and pretty quick, too! Perfect for a wintery day. I also cut up and used the broccoli stalks. I would recommend using a low-sodium broth to reduce to salty taste. A spoon of sour cream would also be nice to add on top when serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: East Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2006
Yum yum!! I love this recipe!! I added some salt to it and it's fantastic! I didn't blend the broccoli because I like it quite chunky. Also, I had no chicken broth so I replaced it with the same amount of vegetable stock and it's just great! A friend at work loved the smell, tried it and is making it for himself tonight! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shayna

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
this was quick to make and turned out pretty yummy.i pretty much followed the recipe exactly except i added about 3 tbsp of parmesan cheese. the soup ended up being a little too thick so i added about a cup of milk while it was still in the food processor. i also set aside about 1/2 a cup of the cooked broccoli to add to stir in before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Cavanaugh

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Pompano Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
Good. Needs Onion, cheese and sour creme.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Larry G Jones

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Butler, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 29, 2011
I liked this. I used leftover cooked rice and a few other random leftover veggies (onions, carrots, cauliflower)since I didn't have enough broccoli. Worked well. I just added the rice towards the end. You definitely need to add more broth and add spices if you don't want it to be too bland. I like that it doesn't call for velveeta or heavy cream. Blending the rice gave it a creamy consistency almost as if I added milk. I thought that was different. I will probably make it with leftover veggies and rice again to help clean out the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MI$$DREA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
I added an onion and used brown rice. This was delicious. I only pureed half so I would have some texture. As with any recipe I added salt and pepper to taste. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shantelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2008
I'm always looking for good recipes that don't use milk, since my husband is lactose intolerant, and can't do straight milk in a recipe. This recipe hit the spot. I added a little extra cheese, and a dash of oregano, pepper, and cayenne pepper. I cut the green part off of the green onions and put it on top of the soup and put the white part in with the garlic. A nice thick soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2007
Only OK. Needs more seasoning and a LOT MORE BROTH because of the rice. I added a total of 4 more cups after I had pureed the broccoli/rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2006
My husband and I thought this soup was awful. I even added more cheese to it and still didn't have any flavor. Would not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Best Cream of Broccoli Soup

See how to make a simple, quick homemade broccoli soup recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States