Broccoli Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
Changes that I made: -8 CLOVES OF GARLIC -1 ONION -BROWN RICE -A LOT OF OLD CHEDDAR CHEESE -PEPPER ABOUT 1/2 A TEASPOON didn't measure I love this recipe!!! Will continue to make it a long time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
Good. Needs Onion, cheese and sour creme.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Larry G Jones

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Butler, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 29, 2011
I liked this. I used leftover cooked rice and a few other random leftover veggies (onions, carrots, cauliflower)since I didn't have enough broccoli. Worked well. I just added the rice towards the end. You definitely need to add more broth and add spices if you don't want it to be too bland. I like that it doesn't call for velveeta or heavy cream. Blending the rice gave it a creamy consistency almost as if I added milk. I thought that was different. I will probably make it with leftover veggies and rice again to help clean out the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missdrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
Amazing soup and very easy to make! I am preparing this soup for a second time in less than two weeks! Tonight I doubled the recipe, adding only some yellow onion and I will use fresh Parmesan instead of cheddar just for fun. Thank you for this delicious soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
I used brown rice in this, so I simmered for 30 minutes, which is what my brown rice directions stated. Pureeing this makes it really thick, so add more broth if you aren't a fan of thick soups. I like thick soups, though, so it worked pretty well for me. I jazzed it up a little to make it less bland: I used more garlic than called for, added some onion powder, seasoned salt, and a dash of hot sauce. When I topped with the cheese I also topped with snipped chives. Very good! I made it just for myself (bf wasn't hungry at the time) but he took a bite and decided he wanted some. This really doesn't make a huge amount, but that's just fine for me since it's just the two of us. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2010
I added half an avocado to the blender stage for texture and used jasmine rice because that's what I had...it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Adrienne
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
We loved this meal! I added some onions, like some of the other people. It didn't make very much though, my husband and I ate the whole thing in one sitting. It could be doubled for guests. :) Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
I used too much broccoli in this one. Bland, mushy and separated!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
this was quick to make and turned out pretty yummy.i pretty much followed the recipe exactly except i added about 3 tbsp of parmesan cheese. the soup ended up being a little too thick so i added about a cup of milk while it was still in the food processor. i also set aside about 1/2 a cup of the cooked broccoli to add to stir in before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Cavanaugh

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Pompano Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
I was looking for a simple soup as I wasn't feeling well. 1st time I made it with brown rice & veggie stock. 2nd time w/ jasmine rice & chix stock & 1 medium onion as I was out of garlic. I make the rice (1/2-1cup uncooked) 1st in a rice cooker & use a 16oz bag of frozen broccoli. I use about 1 box of stock for the soup as I puree it. Can use more stock if you want for cooking the rice separately.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Best Cream of Broccoli Soup

See how to make a simple, quick homemade broccoli soup recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States