Broccoli Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2005
i loved the taste of this salad and the fact that it did not have bacon in it . the orange juice gave it a very nice flavor thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2005
Very healthy. I added a bit more miracle whip than 1 T. but not much. You couldn't even tell you were eating a yogurt based salad. Broccoli salad is one of my favorites - now I don't have to feel guilty about it! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2005
A little dry. Next time I'll try it with extra sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lockport, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2005
Blanch the broccoli florets (drop them into boiling water for 1 minute, then drain or put into a salad spinner to dry) before adding the other ingredients and dressing. 100% improvement.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2005
I enjoyed this very much but I did blanche the broccoli for 1 minute first, I also added a tsp of chopped garlic to give it a bit more zing. I never knew broccoli could taste so good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2006
This salad was great with a few modifications. First blanch the broccoli. Second double the dressing and use real mayonnaise (it's only a couple of tablespoons for Pete's sake!) and Third ADD BACON.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KNS93

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Hollister, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2006
I loved this! Such wonderful flavor and can be made in a snap! I always blanch broccoli, as I don't like that real raw flavor and it brings out the green. I also added salt and pepper, had low fat mayo and full fat yogurt. I only had a tangerine so used the juice from that and also a bit of the grated rind thrown in. It really brought out a beautiful flavor and the color of bits of orange. I didn't have sunflower seeds so threw in a few cashews for crunch. The textures are also wonderful in this salad and so healthy. Will definitely be a summer staple in my house. It was nice to find one that didn't take bacon, as my husband doesn't eat pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2006
Really a good salad! And healthy too! I added about 2 T. real bacon bits for flavor and blanched the broccoli about 2 minutes to bring out the bright color. Didn't like it much when I first prepared it but after sitting overnight it's delicious! The flavors have really blended. I think it would be good with chopped walnuts instead of the sunflower seeds. That would even make it healthier. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2007
It seemed a little bland to me. I tried to spruce it up but couldn't get it quite right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2007
We didn't care for this. It was certainly edible, but I found it bland and the dressing too watery (maybe my yogurt was old??) I blanched the broccoli as others suggested and made extra sauce, but all in all I just thought it lacked flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Broccoli Salad

Fresh broccoli with lots of bacon, grapes, almonds, and a sweet, tangy dressing.

Bodacious Broccoli Salad

A kicking, creamy 5-star broccoli salad with bacon and cheese.

Alyson's Broccoli Salad

This tasty salad is perfect for potlucks and buffets.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States