Broccoli Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2005
Blanch the broccoli florets (drop them into boiling water for 1 minute, then drain or put into a salad spinner to dry) before adding the other ingredients and dressing. 100% improvement.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2006
This salad was great with a few modifications. First blanch the broccoli. Second double the dressing and use real mayonnaise (it's only a couple of tablespoons for Pete's sake!) and Third ADD BACON.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KNS93

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Hollister, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2006
I loved this! Such wonderful flavor and can be made in a snap! I always blanch broccoli, as I don't like that real raw flavor and it brings out the green. I also added salt and pepper, had low fat mayo and full fat yogurt. I only had a tangerine so used the juice from that and also a bit of the grated rind thrown in. It really brought out a beautiful flavor and the color of bits of orange. I didn't have sunflower seeds so threw in a few cashews for crunch. The textures are also wonderful in this salad and so healthy. Will definitely be a summer staple in my house. It was nice to find one that didn't take bacon, as my husband doesn't eat pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
Due to personal taste, I put halved grapes in instead of raisins and used a sauce from another recipe: 1/3C mayo, 1/4C yogurt, 3T sugar, 1T red wine vinegar, 1 fresh squeezed orange and fresh ground pepper, also no red onions, too stinky, either some finely chopped Vidalias if in season or white, or
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
This is my "go to" broccoli salad. Healthy and nutritious- and it tastes good! Need more of the dressing in proportion to the broccoli
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maureen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 12, 2006
Really a good salad! And healthy too! I added about 2 T. real bacon bits for flavor and blanched the broccoli about 2 minutes to bring out the bright color. Didn't like it much when I first prepared it but after sitting overnight it's delicious! The flavors have really blended. I think it would be good with chopped walnuts instead of the sunflower seeds. That would even make it healthier. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
OMG This was the "Hit" of my dinner party!! In addition I added one large shredded carrot. Tossed extra sunflower seeds and raisins. I can't wait to make this dish once again!!! By the way, I was looking for a cold side dish and this was it!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tricia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
I love this salad! I doubled the dressing & added some bacon bits. Oh and let it sit overnight for best taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
This recipe is so delicious. I just about doubled the raisins and sunflower seeds and added an extra TB of OJ because I love the sweet flavor of brocolli salad dressing. I also added 1 TB of honey. Wow... will be making this again! Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2005
i loved the taste of this salad and the fact that it did not have bacon in it . the orange juice gave it a very nice flavor thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Broccoli Salad

Fresh broccoli with lots of bacon, grapes, almonds, and a sweet, tangy dressing.

Bodacious Broccoli Salad

A kicking, creamy 5-star broccoli salad with bacon and cheese.

Alyson's Broccoli Salad

This tasty salad is perfect for potlucks and buffets.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States