Broccoli Salad with Margarita Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
DELICIOUS and so refreshing! The dressing really makes this stand out from the rest...LOVED the slightly sweet, tanginess of the dressing w/ the creaminess of the cheese and the crunch of the broccoli. All of the veggies made a great combination of flavors together and the dressing just put it over the top. This was so light and fresh tasting, and, this is gonna sound corny, but I really felt good eating it! Hubby already called the leftovers for lunch tomorrow, so that's saying a lot, lol. I have a confession though...I made this just as written, but planned to add the romaine at the last minute and...I totally forgot to add it, but it was wonderful, so it worked out anyway. Make this early in the day to allow the flavors to blend well...I shook mine around in the container every so often to keep the veggies coated. Sherri, Thanks so much for sharing this awesome recipe that is def gonna be a summer salad staple for us! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by bellepepper
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
I’m delighted to be one of the first to make and review Sherri’s recently published recipe! First let me tell you, we loved this!! We like broccoli in this house, so as soon as I saw this recipe I knew I had to try it. I did make a few adjustments based on personal preference and ingredients on hand. I increased the honey just a bit and reduced the cumin, but not by much. I used white button mushrooms. And because I had leaf lettuce on hand, and it’s not as sturdy as romaine, I tossed it in just before serving. I also had to use regular sharp cheddar, rather than white cheddar. This was light and refreshing and definitely not your typical broccoli salad. And just in time for those summer cookouts! Thank you Sherry and my broccoli loving hubby thanks you too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
This is a light and refreshing salad. The dressing totally made it for my husband and I. I did the let ingredients marinade before serving, omitting the mushrooms (not a fan) and using a sliced fresh tomatoes (what I had on hand) rather than the grape tomatoes. This dressing is so good, that I had an extra lime, so I made up a batch of dressing just to have on hand for future salads. *Sherri* - you have a winner, thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
I usually avoid trying any recipe with less than 10 reviews but this one sounded so good. I used cherry tomatoes and omitted the mushrooms (yuck) and used about 1/2 cup fresh cilantro (we LOVE it). The smell of the dressing after I blended it made me nervous- I did not have high hopes b/c it just didn't smell good. I left the romaine out (didn't want it to get soggy- highly recommend leaving it out until ready to eat) and let the broccoli and other ing marinade for about an hour and a half. I filled each bowl about half full of romaine and then filled the rest of the bowl with the broccoli mixture and mixed it all up. I had every intention of adding some parmesan cheese but completely forgot and I am so glad I did b/c this was fantastic even without cheese! I am always counting calories and I could enjoy a large bowl of this with no worries at all AND it is really filling. The 2nd day was even better. I cannot express how great this was! One word of caution- go easy on the onion- Hubs thought it was a bit too strong... I didn't mind at all though... maybe personal preference. I will definitely be making this for our next 'company for dinner'. I just hope we can eat this outside- what a great warm weather salad. Wow, really, you have to try this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
I made this the other night to serve with grilled cajun chicken. I didn't use the mushrooms just because I don't like raw mushrooms. The salad was fantastic - thanks for the new summer recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Meredith, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Nottingham, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
I made this recipe and followed the recipe. It is delicious and I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
LOVED this salad! Its very limey, but awesome! You really don't need to add the lettuce. I don't think it added anything to the salad with it. I would just add extra broccoli! The mushrooms were also really great in it because they soaked up a lot of the dressing! Definitely would recommend this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2012
THis salad was really good, and a big hit for cinco de mayo. I think I didn't add enough lime juice, I only had two limes. Next time I will use 3 or 3.5, but this salad is very tasty and light and refreshing. Perfect for summer! Thanks Sherri!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2012
Sorry. This was OK. Probably won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sheboygan, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
This was very good! Everyone is right, the dressing makes this! Next time I would decrease the cumin a tad, but that could be a personal taste. I used parsley in lieu of cilantro. I made it the day before and the broccoli absorbed the dressing nicely but was still crisp. Thanks, Sherri!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mickdee

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Broccoli Salad

Fresh broccoli with lots of bacon, grapes, almonds, and a sweet, tangy dressing.

Bodacious Broccoli Salad

A kicking, creamy 5-star broccoli salad with bacon and cheese.

Alyson's Broccoli Salad

This tasty salad is perfect for potlucks and buffets.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States