Broccoli Salad with Margarita Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2015
We liked this but if I made it again I would not marinate the lettuce with the rest of the vegetables unless sure it would all be eaten. It didn't hold up well over time. I don't know what the max marinating time would be but definitely not overnight. I have never stored a dressed lettuce salad so I didn't know what to expect but I picked out the lettuce and salvaged the rest. The only changes I made were to use chopped cucumber instead of mushrooms (personal preference), and reduce the dressing by half. I did use ground coriander as suggested since I didn't have cilantro. I liked how the cukes and broccoli took up the flavor of the dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by linda2d

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
Great start! But I like a LOT of flavor and STUFF in my salads (and food in general). I don't care for mushrooms, so those were out, but I added a chopped Granny Smith Apple, chopped avocado, green onions (instead of red onion), craisins, and chopped almonds. I also put a full 1/4 cup of cilantro in the dressing because that's one of my FAVORITE flavors... It was awesome! Because there are just two of us and I didn't want the lettuce to go bad over night I "marinated" all the ingredients EXCEPT the lettuce together in the dressing and then we just scooped out as much topping as we desired onto a bed of lettuce... Then we did the same thing for lunch the next day. It kept beautifully! I'm making it again tonight!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Roslyn Edwards Foreman
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
I love this. I changed it up a bit. Added Broccoli slaw, cranberries and slivered almonds. Also doubled the liquid ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
We really disliked this dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Western Springs, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sister Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
I really liked this recipe! The dressing was both tart and sweet and the veggies stayed wonderfully crisp. But note that you have to REALLY like cumin to enjoy this salad because the cumin does take over the dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2013
Great potluck recipe. Light and refreshing. I also cut back on the cumin to about 3/4 tsp. I did not add the romaine lettuce until right before serving. This was a big hit. I let the ingredients marinate for 6 hours, which helped the broccoli to break down just a little, but not get soggy. The rest of the vegetables held up beautifully. I bought the Costco Broccoli tops in a bag, and used about 10 oz.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
We loved this salad the only thing I added was sliced avacado before I put on the cheese. This is definetely a keeper and I am going to try this dressing on other salads,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
I did not have romaine so I used a combo of baby spinach and arugula. I omitted the mushrooms and substituted parsely for cilantro as I do not like cilantro and I LOVE parsely. I doubled the grape tomatoes because of the omission of mushrooms. This dressing was superb! It is in the fridge chilling right now but I had to taste it as soon as it was done and OH MY! So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by barb57

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Greene, Rhode Island, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
This was fantastic! My husband and I made this last night and absolutely loved it. He requested that we make it again tonight since we finished the entire bowl full last night! Definitely a keeper! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
Yum! I used my food processor and processed the onion with the EVOO, lime juice, etc... I admit that when I tasted it, I thought it tasted a little sweet, but it is AWESOME with the broccoli. I marinated broccoli, tomatoes, and chick peas (love these)... I left out the mushrooms. Then I poured the marinated veggies on the romaine (and tossed) so that it wouldn't get soggy. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NikkysNiche

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tallahassee, Florida, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Broccoli Salad

Fresh broccoli with lots of bacon, grapes, almonds, and a sweet, tangy dressing.

Bodacious Broccoli Salad

A kicking, creamy 5-star broccoli salad with bacon and cheese.

Alyson's Broccoli Salad

This tasty salad is perfect for potlucks and buffets.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States