Broccoli Salad III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
I make this all the time, but I thought I would share my modifications. I'm told I make the best! Lol! First finely chop your broccoli. I think that is what makes people love my salad. Instead of or in addition to grapes, you can use raisins, or for the holidays dried cranberries! I use red onions (more color) and green onions. I put the crumbled bacon in a side dish to garnish. I use the sugar and mayo (use low fat - very delicious) in the same ratio, but add 2 tablespoons of red wine vinegar. Everyone wants this recipe and you will get compliment after compliment for it, plus it is very healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2003
I liked this recipe a lot. The dressing was a little sweet, but good overall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Easley, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2005
Used regular bacon, cut the onion, sugar and seeds in half- everyone RAVED about this salad! Easy to prepare, and delicious. Will make again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIVEEVILLISA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ypsilanti, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2004
The dressing is very good with lime instead of vinegar, and I used jerked chicken instead of bacon. It's becoming a favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2004
Very good recipe. I do not like salads too sweet hence I reduced the quantity of sugar. As I am a vegetarian, I used soy bacon. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2003
Quick and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jamieq
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2006
I changed it up a bit. I had eaten a similar one at a party and changed acording to that recipe. I used regular bacon, red onion and almonds instead of sunflowers. My husband begs me to make it weekly and everyone wants the recipe. It is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Mound, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
this was good. i did however use regular bacon instead of turkey bacon and omitted the grapes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
This was delicious! Perfect for a bbq by the pool! Used regular bacon instead of turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
Delicious!! Like everyone, I made a few changes. Only 1/2 C sunflower seeds, about 2 T. Real Bacon bits, and Balsamic vinegar instead of red wine. Will definitely save this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RCBMC

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Broccoli Salad

Fresh broccoli with lots of bacon, grapes, almonds, and a sweet, tangy dressing.

Bodacious Broccoli Salad

A kicking, creamy 5-star broccoli salad with bacon and cheese.

Alyson's Broccoli Salad

This tasty salad is perfect for potlucks and buffets.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States