Broccoli Salad I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
This is a wonderful recipe. I made it according to the recipe the first time, without onions (personal preference) and 5 T red wine vinegar. It was very good, but a little too tangy for our taste. So, the next time I used 4T of Balsalmic vinegar instead and it was DELICIOUS!! I love the golden raisins in it! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Des Moines, Washington, USA
Living In: Kent, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
I made this salad for a potluck for my husband's Christmas party for his division. It was a hit. I added more broccoli than suggested because it seemed a little too moist. The sunflower seeds add a nice crunch! Costco has a salad like this that you just add ingredients and stir...but mine was even better from scratch! Will make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2007
When I make this salad I use 1/2 mayonnaise and 1/2 vanilla yougert and 1/3 cup of raspberry vinegarette (instead of red wine vinegar) for the dressing. I also use more raisins and sometimes use broken cashews in place of the sunflower seeds. We can't get enough of this salad and leftovers are wonderful! So far everyone has loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2007
I have made this salad for years and everyone that tries it LOVES it! The recipe I use has different proportions though. I use 1/2 lb. of bacon, 1 cup raisins & sunflower seeds. I use 1 cup mayo, with a 1/4 cup sugar and only 3 tablespoons white vinegar. I think the proportions in this recipe would make this much to tart for my taste and there would be way too much bacon in proportion to the other ingredients. Try changing the proportions until you get the taste you love.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Folsom, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2007
This is a great recipe which I especially like during the hot summer months. I've also made it by adding cauliflower and using toasted walnuts and finely sliced red onion. Mmmmm Good. Thanks so much for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2007
Loved it! I skipped the raisins as some are not fans. Also used Miracle Whip instead of mayo-personal preference. Going into my keeper file.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2007
A winner! Easy, good, and everyone loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2007
I have been making this salad for years. A friend of mine brought it to a potluck and I got the recipe from her. I usually increase the broccoli, I don't really measure it, but I think it's about 6 cups. I cut the raw bacon into small pieces with kitchen shears, then fry it all at once, stirring occasionally, until pretty crisp. My cats go nuts, hoping I'll drop some. I have to move quick if I want some salad, between my husband and the cats, this goes quick. I made some Monday and it was gone Tuesday morning. Just bought some more broccoli and bacon to make it again. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianemwj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2007
Absolutely delicious! Guests always ask for the recipe of this great salad. I use Hormel Bacon Bits when I'm in a hurry. I also add sliced red grapes and pine nuts. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2007
We have a recipe that we use that's very similar to this one. But rather than sunflower seeds we use peanuts, we cut back a lot on the mayo, and use plain vinegar. It's definitely one of my favorite foods to make and to eat. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wilco

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Broccoli Salad

Fresh broccoli with lots of bacon, grapes, almonds, and a sweet, tangy dressing.

Bodacious Broccoli Salad

A kicking, creamy 5-star broccoli salad with bacon and cheese.

Alyson's Broccoli Salad

This tasty salad is perfect for potlucks and buffets.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States