Broccoli Salad I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2008
This salad was great!!! I added some culiflowers and they came out really good. I just bought a bag of pre-cut broccoli and culiflowers. I like to get things done fast!!! I also bought a deli bag of cooked bacon pieces and put those in the salad. Pretty fast!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hey, I am a family pet Walker.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yokohama, Kanagawa, Japan
Living In: Cheyenne, Wyoming, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2008
I like purple onions in the recipe instead, they are sweeter and taste better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2008
The classic. Always great. Don't change a thing and you will enjoy this anytime throughout the year. Especially best in the summer paired with grilled fare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2008
Very good - I scaled the recipe back to 4 servings, and used 1T less of the red wine vinegar. I would do the same for a larger batch. It's perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2008
Mmmm, this is such a nice summer recipe. I had it once before at a potluck with shredded cheese in it, so I added about 2/3 C to it. Overall, I used more broccoli and less bacon and sugar. Using all the sugar called for would have made it much too sweet for my taste. You can also substitute toasted walnuts in the place of sunflower seeds. I love the crunchy texture of this salad! Everyone was gobbling it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine R.
Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2008
I used regular purple raisins because I like the color. It tasted awesome!! Everyone loves this salad. Be sure to mix well before serving, as all the dressing wants to settle at the bottom. Also, add sunflower seeds just before serving to maintain their crunchy texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2008
This was DELICIOUS!! My husband hates broccoli & he loved this salad. He went back for more a few times :) I took advise from a few of the other reviews. I blanched the broccoli for better color and consistancy. Instead of red wine I used balsamic & cut sugar to 1/3 C ... left mayo the same. Next time will add carrots - I think that would add great color as well as more nutrition/flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Miller Place, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
This is a wonderful salad for any occassion. Great pot-luck addition. My family (all ages) loved it. I added crasins and sunflower seeds...........great. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Traci-in-Cali
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
This stuff is awesome!.. I could eat it all day long! My preference is red onion instead of green though... This salad is sweet, crunchy, chewy and zingy with all the ingredients combined. You can cut down on fat by decresing the bacon and using a lower fat mayo, but I wouldn't recommend it because you loose some flavor! the broccoli, rasins and sunflower seeds are good for you too!:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci-in-Cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
Good recipe! I replaced the raisins with dried cranberries, blanched the broccoli beforehand to make the color prettier and added more broccoli. Next time I may try subbing some of the mayo with yogurt to make it healthier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Broccoli Salad

Fresh broccoli with lots of bacon, grapes, almonds, and a sweet, tangy dressing.

Bodacious Broccoli Salad

A kicking, creamy 5-star broccoli salad with bacon and cheese.

Alyson's Broccoli Salad

This tasty salad is perfect for potlucks and buffets.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States