Broccoli Salad I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: May 13, 2007
This is really good. I make this all the time now. The first time I followed the recipe exactly, and thought there was too much dressing and bacon. So instead I add 6 cups of broccoli and only abut 1/3 pkg bacon. Always use dried cranberries in place of raisins. Depending on the brand of red wine vinegar that I use, I have to watch the amount to add. Sometimes it is very strong. This salad is usually best eaten the first day it's made, as it tends to get soggy as time passes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: May 6, 2007
I have had more compliments on this recipe than any other. I always take it to a get together and everyone wants the recipe! I do use only 3.5 tbls of the red wine vinegar and use dried cranberries...so delicious! I made it this week with a variation--broccoli slaw in a package...it was great too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2007
AWESOME RECIPE!! I love the red wine vinegar, rather than regular vinegar. I made this for a family dinner, and it was a huge hit! I didn't have red onion, so I added diced white onion. I also doubled the raisins. I must say, this is the best broccoli salad I have ever eaten!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Neosho, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
Good basic recipe. I had pine nuts, so substituted them for the sunflower seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Loren
Home Town: Matthews, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2006
I am not a broccoli-salad eater, but I love this recipe. A user below asked what would be good with using this as a side...us gals at work here eat it with rotisserie-style chicken and fresh bread to try to keep it as healthy and lite for spring/summer as possible. We try to cook/buy chicken that is not heavy flavored, as the mellow chicken compliments all the flavors going on in the salad instead of competing with it. Excellent potluck and lunch food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PIEDRASPR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Caguas, Caguas, Puerto Rico
Living In: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2006
Very good...I added peanuts and used cranberries instead of raisins! I also halved the mayo. Loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2006
This salad is so good!!! It is one of my absolute favorites. I can't get enough of it!! One of the girls here at work adds cauliflower to it too. I have used both the cooked bacon and the ready to use bacon (both good)- bacon bits of any kind change the overall flavor (not good!) Have tried other versions but this is the best!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2005
I have used this recipe several times. It's always requested! I did make some changes. 6 tbs's of red wine vinegar seemed like a lot. I reduced the 1/2 c. sugar to 1/3 c. and used Splenda instead of sugar, used 4 tbs's of red wine vinegar and reduced mayo to 3/4 c light mayo. I also use the hormel or oscar meyer precooked crumbled bacon in package (found in bacon bits aisle & less calories then fresh bacon. I wouldnt recommend bacon bits. they have a stale, fake taste)Can easily be doubled or tripled for large get togethers
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2005
One of my fave recipes. Made tonight for a church potluck with rave reviews. Try reducing the sugar to scant 1/3 cup, use 1/2 red onion, small dice, reduce the vinegar to 3T, and add 1/2 c (4 oz) pre-shredded sharp cheddar cheese instead of bacon. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2005
I made this salad for my sister's bridal shower. I added cauliflower and used dried cranberries instead of raisins. It turned out great. Will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Broccoli Salad

Fresh broccoli with lots of bacon, grapes, almonds, and a sweet, tangy dressing.

Bodacious Broccoli Salad

A kicking, creamy 5-star broccoli salad with bacon and cheese.

Alyson's Broccoli Salad

This tasty salad is perfect for potlucks and buffets.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States