Broccoli Risotto with Cream and Lemon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
I made this risotto with the stock from a whole chicken cooked yesterday. Did not have white wine so used cooking sherry. And, once the sherry was absorbed, added the rest of the chicken stock and pressure cooked it for 6 minutes. Once done, put the pressure cooker on "brown" and added the broccoli and cheese. Did not need the cream because it was so creamy already! Wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
This is a recipe I've cooked several times and just love the flavors in this risotto. I used a Romano/Parmesan/Asiago cheese blend and frozen baby broccoli florets because I did not want big chunks/large stalks in the risotto. Like other cooks, I used less cream to cut down on the fat as well as regular whipping cream rather than the heavy version. Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
After ordering a broccoli risotto recipe at Perkins recently, and thinking it was pretty awesome for chain restaurant fare, I was happy to find this one at the allrecipes website. It is very good, and did not require any salt or pepper. I realized too late that I forgot the heavy cream on my trip to the store, but found a substitution on-line: 3/4 cup milk, 1/3 cup butter, and 1 tablespoon flour (if using 1% or skim milk). It worked perfectly. I like chopping the broccoli very fine, so each bite suggests broccoli rather than overwhelming the dish with large chunks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
This was pretty good, and not too difficult (was my first time making risotto so I was a little scared!) Since I don't have experience making risotto, I'm not sure if I ended up with the 'right' consistency, but I stopped adding broth after four cups, and it was even a teeny bit mushy. But perfectly edible and tasty. I used a little more oil and a lot less butter, forgot to put the chives in, more asiago and no parmesan - though if I make again, I think I would use just parm 'cause I always have it on hand, and asiago is more expensive than it's worth. I also added a tbsp more lemon juice plus another quick drizzle at the end, and it still didn't taste very lemony, but that's alright. Overall, quite good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kanata, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
i skipped the lemon and used 1% milk instead of cream and it was DELICIOUS. Love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carlie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2009
Wonderful flavor and very creamy! I also steamed the broccoli separately and mixed in toward the end. I served this with fish and it was amazing! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kay Cole

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
This was fantastic! I made two alterations- substituted chopped frozen spinach for the broccoli (we were out) and used 1/4 cup half and half instead of cream. Also, the finished risotto only "took" 4 cups of broth, so I'd recommend adding just a 1/2 cup at a time towards the end of cooking time. Thanks for the recipe, this was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
I made this exactly by the recipe except that I had no cheese and I through in a little leftover shredded chicken. It didn't taste as good as I had expected, (delicious and creamy, but rather bland.) but I suspect the cheese would have made a big difference. Will definitely try it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Towanda, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ekaterinburg, Sverdlovsk Oblast, Russia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2008
The lemon juice made this risotto taste very different from the mushroom risotto I usually make. It was delicious, and something new and different to make. I added two additional tablespoons of lemon juice, and it took 6 (14-ish oz) cans of chicken broth, which is far more than the listed 5 cups, but it was still worth making. Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Troy, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Muffinmom
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2008
Very good basic recipe, although the measurements require a bit of tweaking! I make risotto quite often, so I have gotten pretty good at finding that perfect creamy consistency, and with the few changes I made, I got it! I did not use any butter, but instead I used all olive oil (about 3 T was enough), and then I added about 3/4 C onion (1 small), 3 chopped cloves of garlic, and sauteed over medium heat for about 5 minutes before adding the wine. I did add 1/2 C wine, and cooked for a few minutes over medium until most had evaporated, then started adding my chicken broth (3 cans was the perfect amount, by the way) about 1/2 C at a time until it began to get creamy, but still had a slight bite to it. (This took about 20 minutes or so, but judge by texture more than time.) Then I added about 1/2 C cream (I think a cup is way too much for only 1 1/2 C rice), 1/2 C fresh grated parm (it needed more then just 2 T), salt and pepper, the 2 T lemon juice, and the steamed broccoli (4 minutes in the microwave is perfect). Add a bit of extra cream if it seems dry at this point. All in all, great recipe; the lemon and broccoli with the creaminess of the rice was delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muffinmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Roasted Garlic Lemon Broccoli

Florets are roasted with garlic in olive oil and dressed with fresh lemon juice.

Best Cream of Broccoli Soup

See how to make a simple, quick homemade broccoli soup recipe.

Butternut Squash Risotto

Make a creamy risotto with naturally sweet butternut squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States