Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
Made recipe as stated & it was a little bland & way too cheesy. Made again and i have to say: Do NOT add dry onion soup mix like others suggested! This gives the dish an artificial taste. Wish I would have sauteed onions and added them like it called for. Used rotisserie chicken & shredded it. Cooked basmati rice in rice cooker while I steamed broccoli in micro. Added 2 TB sour cream. Only used 8 oz shredded colby jack for cheese, but stirred in more milk for creaminess toward end. Definitely needs more flavor, so I added Lawry's seasoning salt, garlilc powder, plenty of salt & pepper. Put some in a small dish to experiment with & added couple dashes of garam masala, cumin & coriander powder (Indian spices) and it added a nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cameron, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
I tweeked the recipe a bit, because of the sodium content. I used fresh chicken, unsalted butter and nonprocessed cheese. Lowered the sodium consideribly. Was fantastic!! The other thing I used, which I change each time I make it, I used often is, with the chicken soup, is cream of broccoli and other cream soup flavors. Just to mix it up, like cream of potato, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
I just couldn't eat more than 2 bites of this. I cooked it exactly as the recipe stated except for cutting down on the velveeta & even used fresh broccoli as recommended in the reviews, & I added some shredded cheddar on top. It was soupy, mushy & very bland. I really don't understand all the raving reviews for this recipe. I'm sorry but, I will not try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
i did not use canned chicken but chicken breast that I had cooked in broth, I also used shredded medium cheddar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
Super yummy and easy!! I used shredded cheddar cheese instead of the Velveeta and 2 can cream of chicken instead of 1 cream of mushroom/1 cream of chicken. Otherwise followed the recipe exactly. This one is definitely going into the regular dinner rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
I really loved this meal. I did not have the processed cheese and did have to substitute 8 ounces of shredded cheese. From reading this reviews, I think that this eliminated any "soupy" texture from the meal and still made it a great meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
was not empressed with this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
This was really good i will be making this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
Turned out a bit soupy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gifford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
Thanks Heather for posting this recipe - it is exactly what I've been looking for. I just put it together & placed in the oven, but I know it's gonna be great from the taste & smell. I really like how you can take a basic recipe like this one & make small changes so easily as long as you keep the main ingredients the same amount. Since I didn't have can chicken I used a couple of chicken breast. Also, I didn't have a can of cream of mushroom but did have a can of broccoli cheese soup. Other than that adding a little spice, all the rest I had on hand. I think my family is going to love this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 501) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Broccoli Chicken Casserole I

See how to make a creamy baked chicken and broccoli casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States