Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
This was pretty good but the raw onion was too strong. If I make this again I'll sauté the onion first. (I also used chicken breast instead of the can chicken per the suggestion of other reviewers)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sandra Carter Crenshaw
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2014
We loved it and will have it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
This is great and simple. I make rice in my rice cooker rather than in a pot. We use shredded cheddar cheese rather than processed cheese food because we do not care for it, and we add stuff like corn and black beans and a touch of siracha to mix it up a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alishia Leathers

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
This recipe was great but what I did different was only adding cream of mushroom and not the cream of chicken since I read the reviews. I didn't want it to be too soupy . Next time I will not use minute rice. I will be using regular rice. Overall this dish was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by veronicamark

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
Super yummy cheesy comfort food! This casserole is our go-to easy supper for us to make on a day when we're absolutely exhausted from work or craving something cheesy. I do make a few tweaks though as my fiancé and I normally try to eat whole and fresh unprocessed foods. We do cheat a bit with this casserole thought with the canned soups! 1). I dice two large chicken breasts or 3 small breasts (depending on what we get from the butcher shop that day) into small pieces and pan fry them in a bit of olive oil, a few tbsp. of water, and S/P until they are cooked through but not dried out. 2). I steam 4 cups of fresh broccoli cut in small florets. 3). I dice a small sweet onion and saute in a bit of olive oil for a few minutes. 4). I use two cups of brown rice cooked in chicken stock to add additional flavor 5). Here is the unhealthy part… I use 1 can of fat free cream of something Campbell's Soup (we prefer cream of broccoli) and 1 can of Campbell's cheddar cheese soup mixed with 1 cup skim milk and a bit of sriracha sauce. I mix everything together with a few handfuls of shredded cheese (usually whatever we have lying around the fridge). I bake for about 35 mins and then sprinkle a 1/4 cup seasoned bread crumbs mixed with a bit of melted butter on top and bake for an additional 10-15 minutes. Not the healthiest meal but it freezes well and it's nice to splurge every once in a while with some cheesy comfort food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
Next time I will use maybe half the processed cheese
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Audrey Cushman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
I made it exactly as recipe stated. I found I had to double the cooking time to make it look right. It was way too rich for my taste. If I make it again I will probably use 1/2 velveeta and 1/2 shredded cheese and skip the canned chicken in favor of chunks of real chicken breast. I would also add more chicken since it seemed like each person got one bite of chicken per bowl. My bf liked the onion flavor although I thought it was slightly overpowering. I would probably saute the onions first next time. It makes a ton so there is a lot left over. I took it for lunch today but am still finding that it is too strong to eat much of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
Easy,quick,loved the video it helped me a lot. Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
This is a great recipe. I did use chicken tenders, pan fried in alittle oil, then chopped into small pieces. Making again tonight because it was requested!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
The posted version is quick but seems bland. I get some ingredients started in a skillet and use the following modifications: 1. Cook rice in chicken broth or boullion 2. Finely chop an onion, cook in skillet until translucent 3. Put the cubed chicken with the onion and season to taste (parika, red pepper, cayenne) 4. Toss the broccoli into the skillet with cooked chicken and cover a few minutes until tender. 5. Use 1/2 lb processed cheese and at least 1/2 lb of real sharp cheddar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Athena Terry

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 499) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Broccoli Chicken Casserole I

See how to make a creamy baked chicken and broccoli casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States