Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 21, 2014
I kept the same ingredients but changed the method a little....Sauté a small onion in the butter until translucent. Steam 1 pound of fresh broccoli florets until barely tender. Chop into small pieces and set aside. Whisk the soups together in a large sauce or sauté pan. Whisk in milk until smooth. Place on low heat until beginning to simmer and add cubed cheese. Stir occasionally until cheese is melted. Add 4 cups of cooked rice (warmed) to a mixing bowl. Shred 2 cooked skinless chicken breasts by hand and add to rice mixture. Add the cooked broccoli and the cheese mixture. Divide into two 7x 11 inch baking pans and bake at 350 for 20 minutes. I usually serve one dish for dinner and freeze the other. It's easier to cook in two separate casserole dishes rather than trying to divide it up later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glendale, California, USA
Living In: Carlsbad, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by rebba260
Reviewed: May 21, 2014
Great recipe. Used fresh chicken b/c I had it on hand. Added crackers on top for a lil crunch. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rebba260

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2014
Way too much cheese. We are going to try this recipe again with 1/2 or 1/3 of the amount of cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2014
I make this also but add canned sliced water chestnuts. It is delicious! Adds crunch! My Mom used to do it also! Try it you'll like it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2014
Simple and great! I used leftover ham from Easter and it was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Taravella

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Georgia, USA
Living In: Fortson, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
Nice dish, the kids liked it. Anytime a recipe calls for "canned" chicken, I always use a rotisserie chicken, it just tastes 100 times better. I also only used cream of chicken soup. You also have to season this all. I used salt, pepper and garlic powder. I topped it with crushed up ritz crackers as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Everett, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
My very picky family loved this recipe. I was leery of the canned chicken, so browned some chicken breasts and shredded them instead. This was a bit more of a pain and took longer than I would have liked. Otherwise, it would have been 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
I would recommend sauteing the onions first and adding another half cup of rice. It was good, but the onions were strong and it was a little 'soupy' so we ate it over biscuits (which was good).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
I did this one as well, had friends that drop by,It was a real HIT !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs. Wolfe
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
This recipe turned out really good. I substituted can chicken for boneless skinless thighs. I didn't use onion either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 475) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Broccoli Chicken Casserole I

See how to make a creamy baked chicken and broccoli casserole.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States