Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
I absolutely LOVE this recipe. I did change it up a little. I use boiled chicken breast instead of canned chicken. 2 large ones or 3 small ones. I add a bit of powdered chicken base to the water to add some flavor. The water then turns into chicken broth which I use to cook the instant rice. I also throw in the onion to cook with the rice to soften it up. Instead of processed cheese, I use shredded cheese. This recipe is always a hit for me! I even leave out the chicken and use it as a side dish at Thanksgiving and Christmas potlucks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
Used leftover turkey and it was delicious! Added a couple dashes of soy sauce. Swapped some of the processed cheese for shredded cheddar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christi Mack

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
Loved this! Here's what I did: used uncooked instant brown rice put uncooked rice in buttered 8x8, placed 1/2 bag frozen broccoli florets on then a few handfuls of shredded leftover turkey from thanksgiving. Mixed 2 cups homemade turkey stock, 1 cup milk, some chopped garlic, and my own homemade version of cream of soup poured that mixture over everything. Sealed the pan with foil and baked at 350 for about an hour, uncovered for the last 10-15min. Will definitely make this again, perfect for leftover chicken or turkey...yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
Opted out of using minute rice on this as well, used medium grain rice, makes for a much creamier consistency. Used 2 cups, this made for a nearly-overflowing 13x9 baking dish full when combined with all other ingredients. You DO need the onion for flavoring, DO NOT leave this out! Opted for a 3-cheddar blend of shredded cheese instead of Velveeta or other processed cheese block, this and the extra rice completely took care of the possibilty of 'soupiness' in this. I actually ended up pre-cooking the broccoli because it needed to be chopped better (I bought florets instead of just chopped broccoli so not so many stems in this), onion, and added all other ingredients in and mixed on the stovetop instead of just mixing in the baking dish to put in the oven. I also added in a 14-oz can of mushrooms, drained. I did bake this after mixing on the stovetop for everything to warm through comepletely. Ended up not having to stir anything in the middle because of stovetop prep! Totally make-ahead and freeze friendly, reheats great after thawed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zo Zo

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cape Coral, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
I made this exactly as written and my family did not care for it. Too much canned soup taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
maybe cut back a little bit on the cheese
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
This was awful. Luckily, I made only a half recipe. I used reduced sodium soup and cut back on the butter. (One whole stick? Yikes!) Nobody in my house liked this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
I loved this recipe. I can't give it 5 stars because I changed it just a little bit. I used shredded cheddar and co-jack instead of processed cheese food, added a little extra rice and cooked the rice in chicken broth as others had suggested. It was just as good or better as left-overs the next day. Tomorrow night I am going to make again - this time adding mushrooms and water chestnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2013
This is an easy go to when I want lots of leftovers for work. Tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milanville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
Easy AND delicious both my children LOVED IT!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 492) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Broccoli Chicken Casserole I

See how to make a creamy baked chicken and broccoli casserole.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States