Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2006
Simple and Delicious. I did make the following changes from the recipe: Rice - Do not use instant and cook in chicken broth before putting all ingredients together. (2 cups of chicken broth for every cup of dry rice) Chicken - Instead of canned, I used the breast meat from a rotisserie by simply pulling it off the bone. Broccoli - I used fresh broccoli, chopped it and steamed until tender. Cheese - I used half shredded cheddar and half crumbled Velveeta. Then mix all ingredients together and add salt, pepper, and garlic salt (I used Lowry's) to taste. This dish turned out no where near bland! **TIP: Don't skip the onion. It adds just the right amount of flavor!**
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1186 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2003
With some help, this is a winner. A pound of processed cheese is enough to overwhelm any meal, and the canned chunk chicken is not so good either. Here's how we make it: Bake 3 boneless skinless chicken breasts and shred. Make rice in our rice cooker just like always, then scoop 2/3 of the cooked rice into the 9 X 13 pan with the chicken. (Our rice cooker calls for 3 cups uncooked to be used so we save the rest of the rice to make rice pudding so nothing goes to waste. It's also cheaper than instant rice) Then I take 16 oz of whatever cheese I have in the house and shred it. 1/2 Jack and 1/2 cheddar work great. Add a packet of onion soup mix INSTEAD of chopping onions, then 2 cans of whatever condensed creamy soups you like (we use 1 chicken and 1 brocoli), a cup of milk, the butter, and a bag of frozen brocoli. Then we top with sliced provolone cheese which we always have in the house anyway, and bake as per instructions. Between the soups, cheeses, and dry soup mix, no additional salt or pepper is necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1006 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Juneau, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2002
My husband and I love this recipe, although I did adapt it to use fresh broccoli, 8 oz each finely shredded cheddar and mozzarella, and half of a rotisserie roasted chicken. I have made it several times and it is one leftover that is gladly eaten. It really does freeze well. I make several small casseroles at a time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
437 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Payne, Alabama, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2006
5 Stars because it is super easy, super quick, super yummy, and all 4 kids LOVED it, even my green-aversion kid who doesn't eat veggies. To make it even faster and easier, I used a rotisserie chicken from my grocery store and just pulled that off the bone, did not pre-cook the rice (instead put it in the casserole dry and added one can of low-sodium chicken broth to the mix), and used 1 package of shredded velveeta and 1 package of shredded sharp cheddar. A few grinds of the pepper mill, a loaf of garlic bread and a tossed salad...dinner was complete. Great meal for a busy mom. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
118 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2002
This recipe was good but needed a little adjusting. I decided to put a little less cheese and some more chicken because it was a bit too cheesy. One of my guests said "You may get a bite of chicken or rice but it all tastes like cheese" After the adjustments it was wonderful and simple to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reno, Nevada, USA
Living In: Idyllwild, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2002
Pretty good meal. Due to the "soupy" complaints, I added an extra cup cooked rice and instead of raw onions, I took the advice of adding a packet of onion soup mix. Good mix of flavors and very filling. Would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2007
Excellent. My husband LOVED this and asked me to put it in our regular dinner rotation. I increased the rice to 3 cups since I found 2 cups to be too soupy. I also used 4 chicken breasts instead of canned and 22 ounces of broccoli. Omitted the onion since we neither one like onion but did add onion powder since we like the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2003
This recipe was delicious and extremely easy! If you’re in a hurry, this is the casserole for you. I did, however, make some changes. I used 2 cups of shredded cheddar instead of processed cheese. I also used cream of broccoli and cream of chicken soup. Curry powder, black pepper & paprika added a kick, and I baked it for an additional 15 minutes to heat it all the way through. My husband loved it, and we had plenty of leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2006
Entire family went back for 2nds. Cut the recipe in half but used fresh broccoli, cut up baked chicken, used extra cheese and only one can of soup, mushroom soup. Also added fresh sliced mushrooms. This was so good and the little bit that was left over was even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon O'Kelly Byrd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
Quick and easy!!! These changes made it absolutely perfect: Half an onion, clove of garlic, and 3 chicken breasts cooked in a frying pan on low heat. When chicken was cooked, i cut it up and dumped the whole frying pan, onions, garlic and all, into the casserole dish. Used 1 cup grated cheddar cheese, 1 can cream of Chicken, and 1 can Cream of Broccoli and Cheese *which is why I used less grated*. Half cup milk, half cup sour cream, lots of pepper, a bit of salt, a few shots of hot sauce (we love it) 3 cups rice and 4 cups steamed fresh broccoli. Cooked for 30 mins on 350, pulled out and crumbled Ritz crackers over top (the cheddar ones) And cooked for another 10 mins. FABULOUS! Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robynne

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 483) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Broccoli Chicken Casserole I

See how to make a creamy baked chicken and broccoli casserole.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States