Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2013
This was fun and quite easy. I did make a few of the suggested changes by other reviewers, but I don't imagine it tasted super different. I cooked my own two cups of rice, which allowed it to be stickier than the instant stuff. I also boiled a single chicken breast in chicken stock, water, garlic, and soy sauce, then shredded it. I used one can of cream of chicken soup and one can of cream of broccoli. The final change was to use a half a pound of mexican shredded cheese mix, since I don't really like cheese. I really enjoyed it and my husband tolerated it-- which is saying quite a bit since he doesn't like cream of anything soups. I'm very likely to make this one again, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2013
Yum, we loved this. I was really easy to make. I think it would even better with fresh broccoli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
Great recipe! Based on the recommendations, here's what I did: I used fresh chicken cutlets (seasoned with seasoning salt and pepper, and boiled in water and onion to save on cooking time and I didn't want the chicken to dry out in the oven) Brown rice (which takes FOREVER to cook), Switched the cream of mushroom for cream of celery (hate 'shrooms) Added colby jack (my favorite cheese) to the soup mixture instead of using processed cheese. Tastes very homemade and rich. I ate with oyster crackers the next day. Delicious! Boyfriend LOVES!! Definitely worth a try with modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NuCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2013
MY FAMILY LOVED IT with some of the tweaks suggested. I made 3 cups of regular rice rather than the instant. And I used fresh chicken breasts that I seasoned and quickly fried and cubed small rather than canned chicken (which is always my last choice). I used the French onion soup mix and 2 heaping handfuls of grated cheese (cheddar and jack mix because that's what I had on hand). I usually always prefer fresh broccoli to frozen but again, that's what I had on hand so I used it and it was great with that. My husband ate so much he was uncomfortable after dinner. And my boys loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2013
Very good casserole and easy to make. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHARRYN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2013
My wife tweaked this a bit. We are not fond of instant rice. She makes a large batch of rice in our rice cooker to make another meal. She put all the wet ingredients in a bowl then 2 cups cooked rice ads the cooked chicken and the broccoli holds the cheese for the top puts into 2 pans cook's one and freezes the other for another week no cook days . I love this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2013
It was delicious! I cut the cheese amount in half, used campbells french onion soup instead of the cream of chicken, cut the milk in half and used fresh cooked chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dale

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
My mom makes a recipe similar to this with instant rice but I don't like the stuff. I used this recipe and subbed the instant with 3 cups cooked basmati rice. It was really yummy. My only complaint was the raw onions. The texture of them raw was a little off. Next time i'll cook them before hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LissaS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Pincher Creek, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
Very good, my husband raved about it, and said it was one of the best things I ever made him. I followed the recipe except added a bit less cheese (used shredded cheddar/jack), fresh broccoli, and added 1 cup more rice. Next time I will also use fresh chicken instead of canned, and my husband requested something crunchy to go on top. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
My family has been making this for years. Try it with leftover turkey! Add extra milk and you wont even have to cook the rice ahead of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 483) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Broccoli Chicken Casserole I

See how to make a creamy baked chicken and broccoli casserole.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States