Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
With changes: 3 large chicken breasts (diced), marinated in olive oil and onions, seasoned with salt, pepper and Italian seasoning. I didn't have soups so added 1 can cream of broccoli and 1 c. sour cream. Melted the butter, used fresh broccoli (steamed in micro for 5 min) and 2+ cups of Mexican blend cheese. Stirred together and topped with bread crumbs. My 5 & 2 year old ate it up! So rare--this is a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny O

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Murray, Utah, USA
Living In: Sandy, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
My family loves this recipe!!! We add curry powder and lemon juice...very very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
So delicious!!! I did use a rotisserie chicken instead of canned, and about 12 oz of shredded velveeta cheese. You probably could get away with 8oz. Brown rice and the healthy choice soups also make this a teensy bit healthier. This was a quick and easy weeknight dish and will definitely be making it again. Thanks for posting!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
Very tasty. Like others suggested i cooked regular (non instant) rice first and used fresh brocoli, and used half velveeta, half cheddar cheese. The onion hovered somewhere between cooked and uncooked. I think next time i might try sauteeing them first for a little bit before adding. Very tasty recipe though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
Great recipe! Family loved it! I made some tweaks as I used fresh broccoli & chicken & shredded cheddar & mozzerella cheese. I sauted the onions with fresh minced garlic & added the chicken to cook in a tbsp. of butter. I steamed the broccoli for 2.5 minutes - then followed the recipe. Lots of leftovers for tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
I made several changes as everyone else did. I was really just looking for a broccoli cheese rice casserole like all the women in my family have made for years. They all have their own recipe, so I wanted to find a good one of my own. I omit the chicken all-together and use 5 cups of cooked white rice. I mix the soups, cheese, butter, milk, and onion soup mix (instead of chopped onion) all together in a pot over medium-low heat to make a sauce. Surprisingly enough, I actually use MORE of the processed cheese to suit my tastes - about 21 ounces total. Once everything is melted together, I stir in the broccoli and rice then pour it all into a glass baking dish topped with shredded cheddar. Bake until heated through, then put it under the broiler for a few minutes until the cheese on top is bubbly and lightly browned. Just what I was looking for... delicious! Now all the women in my family want to use MY recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
Made this recipe at my mom's suggestion as a way to use up leftovers. This turned out good. A few substitutions to use up what I already had: shredded roasted chicken instead of canned, fresh broccoli instead of frozen, regular rice instead of instant. I used an 8 oz. jar of cheese wiz and topped it off with a little sharp cheddar. I probably should have blanched the fresh broccoli a bit because it's still a tad crunchy and even though I fully cooked the rice before adding it to the casserole, it still came out well and not mushy. Even though I made this to use up my leftovers, it looks like I'll have even more leftovers because this makes a huge casserole. Fortunately, my mother had an ulterior motive in suggesting this recipe...she wants me to bring her half of it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
I love this recipe and so did my family!! I also added the onion soup mix instead of the onions, but to increase the creaminess, I added 2 heaping tablespoons of sour cream to it. Makes it extra rich and creamy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
This is sooo yummy! My kids loved this. I served with garlic bread. You could also do rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doreen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
I substituted brown rice, fresh chicken breasts cut into cubes, cream of celery soup, fresh steamed broccoli and only one cup of cheese. Excellent dish that was very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 499) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Broccoli Chicken Casserole I

See how to make a creamy baked chicken and broccoli casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States