Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
I followed this recipe loosely based on what others said they did... I used 3 cups of rice (regular, not instant), 3 cups of shredded turkey breast that I had cooked up, and only the can of cream of chicken soup and not the mushroom. I also left out the butter and decided to use red onion instead of yellow and only used about 1/3 of the onion. Instead of frozen broccoli I used fresh, which I steamed up ahead of time. I did use the amount of velveeta cheese it called for, plus I put some shredded cheddar on top. Next time I'm going to follow my version and also add either shoestring potatos or broken ritz crackers on top for some much needed crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Jones
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
This was great I added a small can of cheese sauce and extra butter it was delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
Made this and the processed cheese was not a hit with the family. Did a 1/4 of the processed cheese the second time and used cheddar and it was great. I also didn't use quick cooking rice but used long grain rice cooked in the rice cooker and it was super easy to throw this together!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
Good basic recipe, but I made quite a few changes. I stewed three large, fresh chicken breasts and shredded those, and used long-cooking Jasmine rice (made according to package directions) which I cooked in chicken broth. I steamed the broccoli to the point it was crisp-tender before adding it to the mixture. I added a cup of sour cream and omitted the butter. I added onion powder (instead of onion), celery seeds, garlic powder, poultry seasoning and Morton's Nature Seasoning. I used 8 oz. finely shredded Mexican Blend cheeses, not processed cheese food. I adjusted my seasonings by adding sea salt and fresh coarse-ground black pepper to taste. Finally, I covered the top with a sleeve of crushed Ritz cracker crumbs mixed with 3/4 stick melted butter, then baked. It was delicious using the "tweaks" of my own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JePeuxCuisiner

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
With changes: 3 large chicken breasts (diced), marinated in olive oil and onions, seasoned with salt, pepper and Italian seasoning. I didn't have soups so added 1 can cream of broccoli and 1 c. sour cream. Melted the butter, used fresh broccoli (steamed in micro for 5 min) and 2+ cups of Mexican blend cheese. Stirred together and topped with bread crumbs. My 5 & 2 year old ate it up! So rare--this is a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny O

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Murray, Utah, USA
Living In: Sandy, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
My family loves this recipe!!! We add curry powder and lemon juice...very very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
So delicious!!! I did use a rotisserie chicken instead of canned, and about 12 oz of shredded velveeta cheese. You probably could get away with 8oz. Brown rice and the healthy choice soups also make this a teensy bit healthier. This was a quick and easy weeknight dish and will definitely be making it again. Thanks for posting!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
Very tasty. Like others suggested i cooked regular (non instant) rice first and used fresh brocoli, and used half velveeta, half cheddar cheese. The onion hovered somewhere between cooked and uncooked. I think next time i might try sauteeing them first for a little bit before adding. Very tasty recipe though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
Great recipe! Family loved it! I made some tweaks as I used fresh broccoli & chicken & shredded cheddar & mozzerella cheese. I sauted the onions with fresh minced garlic & added the chicken to cook in a tbsp. of butter. I steamed the broccoli for 2.5 minutes - then followed the recipe. Lots of leftovers for tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
I made several changes as everyone else did. I was really just looking for a broccoli cheese rice casserole like all the women in my family have made for years. They all have their own recipe, so I wanted to find a good one of my own. I omit the chicken all-together and use 5 cups of cooked white rice. I mix the soups, cheese, butter, milk, and onion soup mix (instead of chopped onion) all together in a pot over medium-low heat to make a sauce. Surprisingly enough, I actually use MORE of the processed cheese to suit my tastes - about 21 ounces total. Once everything is melted together, I stir in the broccoli and rice then pour it all into a glass baking dish topped with shredded cheddar. Bake until heated through, then put it under the broiler for a few minutes until the cheese on top is bubbly and lightly browned. Just what I was looking for... delicious! Now all the women in my family want to use MY recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 473) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Broccoli Chicken Casserole I

See how to make a creamy baked chicken and broccoli casserole.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States