Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2015
I loved this. I was leery because I'd never had canned chicken, but I decided to stick with it for the convenience. This was an amazing dish. It was perfectly moist, delicious, and definitely a keeper. The only change I made was that half of the cheese was a shredded cheddar blend because I ran out of the other. The one change I will make next time is cooking the onion a bit ahead of time or just using dehydrated or powder. I felt that the onions were still a little too raw for my taste (no one else seemed to mind though). OK, second time making this: I skipped the onions, and I used the full amount of processed cheese. I will go back to half processed cheese and half regular cheese for future makings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by NPINELTON
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2015
I was looking for a recipe that used canned chicken. I don't like processed cheese so I used cheddar cheese. I made half the recipe so I skipped the cream of mushroom soup and used the cream of chicken soup. Also I had fresh broccoli on hand I use that. I would definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NPINELTON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belleville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2015
Great recipe, but like everyone else I made some modifications. I did not use instant rice and cooked the rice in chicken broth. Also used frozen broccoli, but cooked in water and drained it. I also sauteed the onion, adding diced celery, one zucchini and one carrot - that's just me trying to sneak in more veggies for the family. Instead of buying canned chicken, I bought a ready whole rotisserie chicken, and shredded the meat. I mixed everything in a bowl and then transferred into a casserole dish so I did not have to stir everything in the middle of the cooking process. I have also used cooked chicken breast and also have used 24 ounces of broccoli to stretch this recipe, and our family really likes broccoli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2015
Easy and tasty. There's a good base here that can be played around with: the rice and the soup (like others have said, either up the amount of rice a cup or cut back on the amount of soup by a third) along with the butter, milk, and onion. The cheese is good, but a pound is a lot, and using real cheese instead of processed is probably a good swap. Broccoli is a good veg choice, but a pound of whatever mix of veggies are handy works fine too. Chicken is also a good choice, but this might be decent with fish if you've got some in the freezer. Adding a layer of breadcrumbs or crushed cornflakes mixed with a little melted butter on top gives a nice contrasting crunch to all the rice, as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2015
I made this recipe exactly as you said didn't seem to soupy at all. My children ate three plates full...I truly mean three plates full. Mean being a picky eater was for sure I wouldn't like it but i loved it. I had saw another recipe with broccoli casserole that added crushed Ritz cracker to the top for crunch, so I did that. Wonderful thanks for sharing your recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kamilah Broddie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2015
Great, easy recipe! I made similar edits as other reviewers listed - using leftover grilled chicken, the Lipton onion mix, and real cheese instead of processed. Super winter comfort food! This recipe makes a large portion so next time I'll probably freeze half before baking or cut it in half. Super cheesey and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2015
I loved it! I made 3 cups of rice, and 2 1/2 cups of water, 1 each of the soups, and I used whole chicken instead of chunk. But, I had to fry the chicken to get it done, had to cook the rice uncovered, and had to double the cook time. But in the end, the taste was fabulous, hence, the four stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRSMCGEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Council Bluffs, Iowa, USA
Living In: Paris, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2015
Added Diced Tomatoes, Olives to make recipe less dry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
Used wild rice, not instant, non canned chicken and fresh broccoli. Listened to reviews and put in less then recommended cheese and used cheddar. Added spices curry, chicken broth powder and some Greek spices. Came out really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Leandra Carr
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2015
It was amazing! Our new fav meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leandra Carr

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 499) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Broccoli Chicken Casserole I

See how to make a creamy baked chicken and broccoli casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States