Broccoli Rice Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2006
Great recipe but way more work than needed. I cut up the velveeta into chunks and placed them in my casserole dish. Then I poured in the two cans of soup and 3/4 c. milk. I put the casserole dish in the oven at 350 and let the cheese melt. Once it was melted, I took the casserole dish out of the oven, stirred the contents until well mixed and added the rice, broccoli, and chopped onion..I omitted the celery. I cooked it for about 30 minutes on 350. It was a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
795 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2003
I'm glad I didn't read the reviews before trying this dish! My mom and husband are veteran broccoli rice casserole lovers and thought this dish was exactly like it should be. It is a bland dish but that's what broccoli rice casseroles are. The only alteration I made was using milk instead of water and it turned out exactly as it should have. I, too, thought it was a bit runny before baking but Mom said, "it will bake fine," and it did. Personally, I like a more flavorful dish so next time, I will add seasoned salt and maybe some garlic. More traditional broccoli rice casserole lovers will want this recipe as is, though! Mama
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
503 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
For those complaining that this is bland, 1) IT'S BROCCOLI CHEESE CASSEROLE...not meant to be a symphony of flavors; 2) You see the ingredients. Anyone with half a brain can tell it's going to be bland and anyone with the other half would throw some garlic and/or spices in. There's no excuse for being surprised that it's bland. For those saying this is unsophisticated: IT'S BROCCOLI CHEESE CASSEROLE. Get off your high horse. Fact is that this is a perfect no-frills recipe that is perfect as-is or dolled up. You can sub wild rice or real cheddar (as I did), add spices, etc. It's a blank canvas; you bring the paint.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
369 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WATSONEA4

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seymour, Illinois, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2001
If yours turned out mushy or runny, it is because 15 minutes is definitely not long enough to cook it. It is a typo and should read 45 minutes. The correct cook time is noted at the top (Cook Time: 45 Minutes).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
365 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
Despite several decidedly strident reviews and two rather horrific admissions of forcing the casserole down the throats of family members and threatening an 8 year old child, I still felt this recipe had promise and gave it a try. It turned out to be a marvelous, homey side dish. I found it easy to prepare and only used two large pots for the preparation and I even doubled the recipe as I was making it for a church function. For those not cooking for a crowd or the starting line up of a professional football team, you will probably want to cut this recipe in half. I did find the directions to be a little vague. It should have specified that the rice measurement listed was uncooked and will yield 6 cups when prepared. Also the recipe calls for a "bunch" of celery, it should be one stalk, if an entire bunch were used the casserole would be inedible. The only real change I made was to top the dish with shredded cheddar. I live in the South and a casserole isn't a casserole without a crumb or cheese topping. This is a recipe that I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
286 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waynesboro, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Clemson, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2007
I prepared this recipe specifically because someone commented that it wasn't for the "sophisticated palate". As someone with a sophisticated palate but with a decidedly un-sophisticated budget, I found this recipe to be delicious, easy and worthy of making again. I hope the "sophisticated" person enjoys her lobsters and golf outings and leaves wonderful recipes like this one to those with "taste". :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
167 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
Even Mexican-style processed cheese for a little kick and fresh broccoli didn't redeem this bland, boring and uninspired dish. Definitely not for the sophisticated palate, so it might just be a real kid pleaser or for those placed on a soft and bland diet (in which case, stick to the plain cheese). Hubby and I would have much preferred a simple, steamed broccoli and a basic rice pilaf. Lots of bother for an unmemorable side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
110 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2002
I didn't quite understand the reason for all the water and actually didn't use any of it, nor did I use the processed cheese. Instead, I added the soups right from the cans along with shredded cheddar directly into the rice mixture and gradually added some milk and stirred until it reached a consistancy I was happy with. Along with some seasonings this dish was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2002
TASTY! Plus, very easy and quick to make. To make a complete meal, I added 1 lb of boiled/cooked cubed chicken. After boiling the chicken until cooked, I then fryed the cubes with a dash of lemon pepper seasoning and a dash of garlic powder. I then mixed it in with the rest of the casserole and topped it off with a cup of dried bread crumbs. The result was very satisfying and it makes alot! Thank you Gina for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2002
I made this recipe last night using my new Allrecipes cookbook. I wish I had read the reviews on the site before I began! However, after making the cheese sauce, common sense told me that there was WAY to much sauce for the amount of rice and broccoli. I doubled the rice and almost doubled the broccoli (used 2 16 oz. packages). The finished results were okay for my family - but certainly nothing I would serve for a special occasion. Still MORE THAN saucy and cheesy enough. I can't even IMAGINE making the recipe as printed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 528) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Broccoli Rice Casserole

See how to make a creamy, cheesy classic.

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Broccoli and Cauliflower Casserole

A creamy, cheesy rice and veggie dish topped with crushed buttery crackers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States