Broccoli Rice Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2013
We used this recipe and really enjoyed it! I didn't use instant rice, but made my rice ahead of time in my rice cooker. I used block cheddar cheese instead of the processed stuff. *shudder* :) I was going to make my own cream of mushroom and chicken soup....but I'm very pregnant with my fifth and was too tired to do that, so I just cheated and bought the cans. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2013
Great casserole! I did make a few changes due to family preferences. I used cream of celery soup instead of cream of chicken, chicken stock instead of water and omitted the celery being I used the celery soup. I topped it with shredded cheddar cheese and crumbled buttery crackers. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Redbird

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2013
I will make it again, but next time I will use a sharp cheddar, some fresh garlic and green onion instead of yellow onion to add some additional flavor. The casserole was creamy, but just needs a bit more of a kick, in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
This was fantastic! I would recommend this as a side dish, and it makes quite a bit...the leftovers are good as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Peoria, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2013
I made this for a class reunion and it was a big hit. You do need to spice it up some to get a more southern country flavior. I used fresh broccoli. I did not use the celery and I placed the onions (raw) and melted the butter then placed it into my bowl. I added several slices of crisp cooked bacon and some garlic. I also put about 6 oz of shredded sharp cheddar cheese to the mixture. I used milk in place of the water. Just before it was done I sprinkiled some shredded sharp cheddar cheese ontop. For thoses complaining about how much it makes, well it did say use a 9x13 inch pan. I will fix again for home but cut the recipe in half. 0(*@*)0
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2013
One of my family's favorites! Fresh broccoli is much better than frozen, but whatever works for you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keld

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lenexa, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
This was quite good. I think what would have made it better was to add crushed butter crackers on the top and baked it that way. Also, to make it vegetarian, I think I will add a can of cream of celery soup instead of chicken. I didn't add celery, so that might be a good way to get it in there, regardless. Nice recipe! Hubby went back for seconds. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandy14

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
This was really good. I didn't have cream of chicken, so I used 2 cans cream of mushroom, plus a chicken bullion cube. Also used some American cheese instead of Velvetta.. No celery either. Added a dash of garlic powder. It turned out really good. I agree with other reviewers: what do you expect? It's broccoli casserole and tastes like it! Go to recipe when farmbox brings broccoli (again)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
I really love this recipe. I add a pound of boiled, pulled chicken, and use 2 cans of cream of chicken and 1 can of cream of celery, mixing with milk instead of water. Also use fresh brocolli rather than frozen, but I don't precook it. I chop it up very fine. Then saute the onion and celery in some garlic olive oil instead of butter. It makes for a lovely entree casserole rather than a side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Moony

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canon City, Colorado, USA
Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 532) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli Rice Casserole

See how to make a creamy, cheesy classic.

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Broccoli and Cauliflower Casserole

A creamy, cheesy rice and veggie dish topped with crushed buttery crackers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States