Broccoli Rice Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
This is wonderful...BUT, I can never remember each time I've made it whether I've used 3 cups COOKED instant rice or 3 cups instant rice (which would be measured into an equal amount of water, thus producing 6 cups COOKED rice, which is an awful lot of rice). I'm getting more forgetful lol and I get rave reviews for this dish, but I hate that I don't write down how I do the rice! From other recipes, it looks like, given equal portions of other ingredients, they would use 3 cups of COOKED rice. The only other thing I do differently is I cook the broccoli in the microwave with no added liquid (frozen broc. makes its own liquid) and I reduce the amount of liquid added to the soup sauce by a little; then I mix everything in my largest possible sauce pan, stirring everything to make sure the velveeta melts. I add garlic powder and onion powder and let that stand awhile. Then I place that in my large metal lasagne pan slightly greased and top with grated sharp cheddar cheese and bake uncovered for 45 minutes. My husband LOVED this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
Great! I made some modifications though. I made this a one dish meal and added 2 chicken breasts which I baked first and seasoned with pepper and garlic powder, then diced. I halved the recipe, used fresh broccoli, one can cream of chicken, no processed cheese and subbed real shredded cheddar, still used 1 onion, no celery. I boiled the broccoli until it was tender and to make everything easier, just tossed that, the sautéed onion, rice, soup, water, cheese, salt and pepper and chicken in a bowl and mixed well. Then I melted some butter and mixed in Panko breadcrumbs to make a crunchy topping and sprinkled it over the top once it was in the casserole dish. This was spectacular!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
For those of you considering making this, please take just a moment to watch the embedded video...it will clear up any confusion as to cooked or uncooked rice, etc. As a long-time Allrecipes user, I have found it quite beneficial to watch videos offered. I believe that had those reviewers done their due diligence prior to making this casserole, their rating would have been higher and their dinners better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KarenFWB

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
Super cheesy and delicious! My whole family is sick and we felt very comforted by this wholesomely good recipe. I used real uncooked rice (not instant). I cooked it in my rice steamer first. I also used a regular 16 oz block of cheese (cubed it myself). I only used 16oz of frozen broccoli. I did use a whole stalk of celery and that was fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
This is delicious! The only changes I made were that I cooked the onions and celery first and I used jasmine rice because I like it better than instant rice. I cooked it first, so i only baked it for about 30 minutes. My family loves this! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
Made with leftover steamed broccoli and only used cream of mushroom (all i had on hand). Was fantastic! Made half the recipe and it was a ton of food. Tho i wont mind the leftovers! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmwood Park, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Oakland, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
Use 2 cups real cooked rice no water and mix all together and bake in pam sprayed pam covered with foil 25 min and take foil off bake 5 more - perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arnandlor

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orangeville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
This was a good recipe to start with. I did make a few changes. I used one cup of white rice and two cups of Uncle Ben's wild rice (microwaveable package) which brings a lot more flavor to the dish. I completely omitted the celery and onion. I've made this a couple of times and found that it doesn't matter if you use milk or water it still comes out great! Finally, a 16oz package of American cheese slices works just as well. Just add a few at a time to the soup mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
add some curry powder and this dish will be the best you have ever had
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2012
Honestly.. I had to change this recipe completely. I used fresh broccoli stead of frozen. I used 1 cup of parboiled rice stead of 3. I chose to use make a white sauce of flour,butter,milk, salt and pepper and red pepper flakes. Before making the white sauce, I sauteed bacon and onions and 2 gloves of minced garlic to add flavor. I then added the cheese to the whole mixture and baked for half an hour at 375 degrees.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 509) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli Rice Casserole

See how to make a creamy, cheesy classic.

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Broccoli and Cauliflower Casserole

A creamy, cheesy rice and veggie dish topped with crushed buttery crackers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States