Broccoli Rice Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
It was a little bland, but I like bland because some people don't like too much spice so I like for them to add their own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie Elliott

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
Best broccoli rice casserole I have ever had!! Super easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
I've made this multiple times and it's always a huge hit! I especially like the flavor of the onion and the celery in this recipe. The casserole extremely cheesy! My family asks me to do this every time I visit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
Made for Thanksgiving dinner, very easy and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Memphis Dad

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
I made this recipe for Christmas dinner, and my family loved it. I did make a few adjustments to the recipe after reading several other reviews: I used 3 cloves of garlic with an onion (omitted celery) and sautéd the frozen broccoli with the garlic/onions; I used 1 can of cream of broccoli and 1/2 can of cream of mushroom; I used 1 1/2 cups milk instead of water; and I only used half a block of Velveeta cheese and supplemented the remaining cheese with 1/2 cup Gruyere and 1/4 cup Parmesan. I began by sautéing the garlic/onion in some olive oil for about 5 min and then adding the frozen broccoli. I added about 1/4 cup of chicken stock to the pan and put a lid on for about 10 min to warm the broccoli through. In a separate pan I added the canned soups and milk, and once dissolved, I added the Velveeta. Once all of that was combined, I added it to the broccoli/garlic/onion mixture and added my three cups rice (I used brown rice that I cooked with some chicken stock and butter). I mixed in the Gruyere and Parmesan at the end and then baked everything at 350 for 45 minutes. The casserole came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LuckyMay
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
It's good but I had way too much soup left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SF2009

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
Here's my take on this recipe. Yes it is kind of bland but it is creamy, cheesy goodness! I have been making this recipe for years and I gotta say I don't understand the necessity of all the steps.I make this recipe with 2 cans cream of chicken, omit the mushroom. I omit celery and I do saute the onions. Now here is where I deviate from the recipe.After sauteing the onions, I add everything together in a big bowl and mix(I don't even cook the rice)I then pour the mixture into greased 9 x 13 pan and cook for 15 minutes. I stir the casserole and then bake another 15-25 minutes. Comes out perfect each time, lots easier and I have had people complain I never make enough! P.S. I do thaw the broccoli before adding to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Woodstock42

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greeley, Colorado, USA
Living In: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
This was really good. Next time I will use one box chopped broccoli and one box/bag broccoli florets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by danart920

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Hixson, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
My while family loved this recipe. I did make a couple little changes: I used fresh broccoli, no cream of chicken soup, 1 c. milk, used real cheese (i can't stand processed stuff), and used previously cooked rice. I always make a big batch of rice and then freeze portions to make different dishes, it works out great. This will always be in my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Chula Vista, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
This was good but a little too soupy. I should have made more rice and added more broccoli to tame down the soupy flavor a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mankato, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 509) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli Rice Casserole

See how to make a creamy, cheesy classic.

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Broccoli and Cauliflower Casserole

A creamy, cheesy rice and veggie dish topped with crushed buttery crackers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States