Broccoli Rice Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
Recipe is great with a few crucial additions. FIRST: Add 1 cup of sliced baby carrots and 1 diced yellow pepper to the onion mixture before you saute. SECOND: this is crucial- when you add the ingredients to bowl for mixing add in 1/4 cup of Mrs. Dash original blend spices (the yellow one) and 1 tablespoon of salt, this makes it taste sooo much better. THIRD: Add 4 cups of cubed chicken breast for a more filling meal. FOURTH: Top with sliced cheddar cheese for the last 10 minutes of baking. Dish was delicious and my very picky son even loved it and just a bonus that I was able to fill it with some extra veggies and protien for him :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
The processed cheese, soups, and milk came together really well and did a great job complimenting the vegetables which I could distinguish in taste. The rice added great texture. I would describe this dish as a gooey meld of subtle flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YearnForTheBurn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
Taste is good but amount of rice is overwhelming and overflows the 9x12 pan. Will be using again but with much less rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
I made this last night with a couple of changes. First, I did what another reviewer had said- I cut the cheese into blocks and melted it with the cans of soup in a baking dish. I also used sharp cheddar and pepper jack cheese. I added a can of cheddar cheese soup to the cream of chicken and cream of mushroom mixture. I sautéed the onions, added the broccoli for a few minutes. I didn't have instant rice, so I boiled the rice I had for about 3 minutes in salt water. After the cheese and soup was melted, I added everything else and baked at 350 for about 30 minutes. I got great feedback! Thanks for this easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
This recipe was great but I did add a some milk and cooked chicken. I also used bouilon cubes to flavor the rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
This was absolutely AMAZING! Seriously, restaurant-style good. I did make a few small changes, however. One--I do not like mushrooms, so I used cream of broccoli soup instead. I was worried that doing that may have made it too broccoli-ish, but it really didn't at all. Also, I did not use that much cheese because that's just so unhealthy, haha. I used about half that amount and that was perfect. Truly, the whole thing came out beautifully. Definitely became a staple in our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
i added chili powder and paprika (just a sprinkle) as well as crushed garlic and a bit of olive oil to my onion & celery mixture. it gave it the extra kick it needed so it wasnt bland at all (as others have noted). Aside from being an extremely high calorie meal/side dish, this recipe is delicious, easy and not too time consuming. It took me about 30 minutes to prep everything and then another 35-45 in the oven. and you spend that 35-45 washing the dishes you used to prep so before you know it your food is done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shabazazar

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
Pretty good. I made it with sharp cheddar, rather than Velveeta to create a richer taste. I would have used celery, but ours had gone bad. Husband loved it. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ponytail Goddess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Freeport, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
It was fabulous! I can´t say that I followed the directions to the letter but the changes I made were because I didn´t have all of the ingredients or I wanted to make things easier. I didn´t use celery. I steamed fresh broccoli. I only used 1 cup of uncooked rice therefore the liquid is necessary but I used milk instead of water. Shredded cheese on top and not melted with soups (didn´t heat soups). Seasoned salt, black pepper, paprika, and the onions cooked in butter is vital. Baked covered for a while and then I uncovered, added cheese, and baked for about 15 additional minutes. Good stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jacksonville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 538) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli Rice Casserole

See how to make a creamy, cheesy classic.

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Broccoli and Cauliflower Casserole

A creamy, cheesy rice and veggie dish topped with crushed buttery crackers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States