Broccoli Rice Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
Added 3 sauteed boneless chicken breasts (cut into bite sized pieces). Substituted a mix of brown & wild rice and it was wonderful. This adds a significant amount of prep time but if you know you will be making this recipe the rice can be made a day ahead and stored in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
I added sour cream and I also used s three cheese blend and mozzorella cheese on top. Use extra sharp cheddar instead of just regular cheddar. AWESOME!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
I used boil in a bag instant rice and frozen broccoli for this. I didn't heat the soups and cheese in a skillet as directed, but instead threw everything in a big bowl along with the rice and broccoli and mixed. I had to add quite a few spices to give it some flavor. Baked for 35 mins at 375 degrees. It was a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
I made this last night as a side dish. I only made half the recipe and just used one can cream of chicken soup, 1 tsp salt, 1/2 tsp pepper, and 1/2 tsp garlic powder. Wonderful flavor. Thanks GMW
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2013
we made this last night. i used milk instead of water, added shredded cheddar and breadcrumbs on top, added chicken on the side for my husband. it was AMAZING!! thank you for a wonderful recipe. i will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
I compleatly destroyed this recipe due to the fact I wanted to use up some leftovers, but it turned out so good. I used two heads of fresh broccoli and alittle over a cup of leftover rice. I didn't have cream of chicken soup so I just used one can of cream of mushroom with a can of milk added. To that I added a bowl full (about 1 cup) of leftover rotel cheese dip (I only used a little over 1/2 of the mixture as it was to much). Added garlic salt, pepper, and minced onion to taste. Then I added a little over a cup of leftover taco meat to it all. Put it in a 8 x 8 glass dish and put 4 slices of american cheese on top, baked @ 350 for 30 min. It turned out very flavorful and creamy cheesey. Thank you for the basic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
I agree this is a good starter recipe. Here are my changes. 1. Thaw the broccoli but don't cook it. That way it stays crisp. 2. The recipe should read one cup of instant rice, not three. I chose to cook one cup of rice (not instant) which made three cups. This amount was perfect. 3. I also started with sautéing the onion and celery, I chopped an equal amount of celery to match the chopped onion. Took it off the heat and added the rest of the ingredients. 4. Used milk instead of water and actually used a little more than it called for. 5. Added: two chopped cloves of garlic to the onion and celery 1 tsp salt 1/2 tsp pepper 1/4 to 1/2 tsp cayenne 2 beaten eggs 6. Used four cups of sharp grated cheddar instead of processed cheese. 7. Topped with two sleeves of Ritz Crackers crushed and mixed with four tablespoons of butter. Seriously, this had a lot of flavor, wasn't mushy and my family LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
Fixed this for church lunch today. Prepared it yesterday and baked it today. Yummy. (Used whole grain rice instead of white and it worked fine.) None left in my casserole dish so I am hopeful that everyone who got a spoonful enjoyed it as much as I did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
I liked this recipe since I had a ton of fresh broccoli growing in my garden I needed to use. I did add garlic, shallots and milk. No fake cheese for us, only fresh cheddar. I made a cheese sauce like you might for au gratin potatoes and put panko crumbs on top. Tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2013
For how much prep this required, it wasn't THAT great. Just blah
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by C4TLADY

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 512) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli Rice Casserole

See how to make a creamy, cheesy classic.

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Broccoli and Cauliflower Casserole

A creamy, cheesy rice and veggie dish topped with crushed buttery crackers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States