Broccoli Rice Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
I didn't plan on altering this recipe when I decided to make it... But after reading a lot of the reviews I was concerned that the finished product would be bland. So I added fresh minced garlic, seasoning salt & paprika. I used 1 can of Campbell's Cream of Chicken & Mushroom (I wasn't even aware that it existed until today! lol) & 1 can of Campbell's Broccoli & Cheese Soup (Next time I'm going to try Cream of Broccoli in place of). In place of the water I used milk. I omitted the celery. And I used 2 pkgs. of 16 oz. frozen broccoli. I sauteed the onion in the butter & in the same pan (on low heat setting after the onion was cooked); Then added the soups, milk & seasonings & mixed all together, next the cubed velveta stirring until it was all melted I added the dry, uncooked rice & broccoli (I heated in the microwave for about 10 min. to soften). Made sure it was all mixed together, the put it in the bakind pan (COVERED) for 45 min. Uncovered it & baked additional 10-15 min. My husband loved it! I know a lot of people are against changing the recipe & reviewing it. But I think reviews have a lot to do with sharing tips, shortcuts & tweaks to help other cooks & ultimately make the dish even better. What I really like about this recipe is there is a lot of different ways to put this together & you can tweak it & make it your own easily!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
For those complaining that this is bland, 1) IT'S BROCCOLI CHEESE CASSEROLE...not meant to be a symphony of flavors; 2) You see the ingredients. Anyone with half a brain can tell it's going to be bland and anyone with the other half would throw some garlic and/or spices in. There's no excuse for being surprised that it's bland. For those saying this is unsophisticated: IT'S BROCCOLI CHEESE CASSEROLE. Get off your high horse. Fact is that this is a perfect no-frills recipe that is perfect as-is or dolled up. You can sub wild rice or real cheddar (as I did), add spices, etc. It's a blank canvas; you bring the paint.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
359 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WATSONEA4

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seymour, Illinois, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
I tried this for this past Sunday and it was a hit. My brother who by the way does not like broccoli tried this dish and loved it!!! I will be making this again for sure. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
Followed this recipe exactly. Seemed like a lot of rice to me. I don't see the need to cook the rice beforehand. That way it won't overcook in the casserole. What do you consider a bunch of celery, the whole thing? I didn't use all of it but about six stalks. I have made a similar recipe in the past but wanted to try this version. I didn't think it was that bland. Just use more pepper and perk up the cheese a little bit with something sharper. Probably a better flavor for kids if it is a little on the bland side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2011
Really good recipe for Easter lunch. I had everything except celery (which we don't like) and cream of chicken soup. I used chicken enchilada soup that I had in the pantry (so I cut the water down by 1/4 cup) and it made such a great flavor. I also always use dried minced onions because my family doesn't like the texture of cooked onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
Followed recipe exactly and it was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monroe, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
Perfect & easy. Great side dish or main dish with a couple chicken breasts added. Excellent leftovers too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jlwichman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
Delicious and traditional! I did use the reduced fat cream of soups just to help with the fat content and you can't even tell a difference!!! I cut back on the celery and left out the onion all together cause of picky eaters (boo them). Will use this recipe again with maybe homemade cream of soups for an even healthier version!! Edit: Made this again Thanksgiving 2014 but subbed milk for water...even better, plus added a good shake of each: garlic powder, onion powder and paprika. DEEELICIOUS once again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
This was fantastic! I used 1 can of cream of broccoli soup & one of cream of chicken soup. Added shredded cheddar cheese since that's what was in my fridge as well as a little garlic powder for extra flavor. Tasted great! I think next time I'll use some shredded chicken as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
Everyone happily went back for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Living In: Agoura Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 525) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Broccoli Rice Casserole

See how to make a creamy, cheesy classic.

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Broccoli and Cauliflower Casserole

A creamy, cheesy rice and veggie dish topped with crushed buttery crackers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States