Broccoli Rice Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
Delicious! Only changes I made were to change out the processed cheese for 1 bag of real shredded sharp cheddar and I added some rotisserie chicken to the dish...wonderful family dinner. Will be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
My grandmother used to make a really yummy broccoli rice casserole... sad to say... I never got her recipe. Glad I ran across this one! I've made it a few times and it's been a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deanna Cagle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
Good flavor but too dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bellvue, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
Delicious! This will become one of my top go-to casseroles. It was pretty easy to make (although a little time consuming). I halved the recipe and it still served about 7 people!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
I didn't plan on altering this recipe when I decided to make it... But after reading a lot of the reviews I was concerned that the finished product would be bland. So I added fresh minced garlic, seasoning salt & paprika. I used 1 can of Campbell's Cream of Chicken & Mushroom (I wasn't even aware that it existed until today! lol) & 1 can of Campbell's Broccoli & Cheese Soup (Next time I'm going to try Cream of Broccoli in place of). In place of the water I used milk. I omitted the celery. And I used 2 pkgs. of 16 oz. frozen broccoli. I sauteed the onion in the butter & in the same pan (on low heat setting after the onion was cooked); Then added the soups, milk & seasonings & mixed all together, next the cubed velveta stirring until it was all melted I added the dry, uncooked rice & broccoli (I heated in the microwave for about 10 min. to soften). Made sure it was all mixed together, the put it in the bakind pan (COVERED) for 45 min. Uncovered it & baked additional 10-15 min. My husband loved it! I know a lot of people are against changing the recipe & reviewing it. But I think reviews have a lot to do with sharing tips, shortcuts & tweaks to help other cooks & ultimately make the dish even better. What I really like about this recipe is there is a lot of different ways to put this together & you can tweak it & make it your own easily!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
For those complaining that this is bland, 1) IT'S BROCCOLI CHEESE CASSEROLE...not meant to be a symphony of flavors; 2) You see the ingredients. Anyone with half a brain can tell it's going to be bland and anyone with the other half would throw some garlic and/or spices in. There's no excuse for being surprised that it's bland. For those saying this is unsophisticated: IT'S BROCCOLI CHEESE CASSEROLE. Get off your high horse. Fact is that this is a perfect no-frills recipe that is perfect as-is or dolled up. You can sub wild rice or real cheddar (as I did), add spices, etc. It's a blank canvas; you bring the paint.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
300 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WATSONEA4

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seymour, Illinois, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
I tried this for this past Sunday and it was a hit. My brother who by the way does not like broccoli tried this dish and loved it!!! I will be making this again for sure. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
Followed this recipe exactly. Seemed like a lot of rice to me. I don't see the need to cook the rice beforehand. That way it won't overcook in the casserole. What do you consider a bunch of celery, the whole thing? I didn't use all of it but about six stalks. I have made a similar recipe in the past but wanted to try this version. I didn't think it was that bland. Just use more pepper and perk up the cheese a little bit with something sharper. Probably a better flavor for kids if it is a little on the bland side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2011
Really good recipe for Easter lunch. I had everything except celery (which we don't like) and cream of chicken soup. I used chicken enchilada soup that I had in the pantry (so I cut the water down by 1/4 cup) and it made such a great flavor. I also always use dried minced onions because my family doesn't like the texture of cooked onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
Followed recipe exactly and it was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monroe, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 509) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli Rice Casserole

See how to make a creamy, cheesy classic.

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Broccoli and Cauliflower Casserole

A creamy, cheesy rice and veggie dish topped with crushed buttery crackers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States