Broccoli Rice Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2006
Great recipe but way more work than needed. I cut up the velveeta into chunks and placed them in my casserole dish. Then I poured in the two cans of soup and 3/4 c. milk. I put the casserole dish in the oven at 350 and let the cheese melt. Once it was melted, I took the casserole dish out of the oven, stirred the contents until well mixed and added the rice, broccoli, and chopped onion..I omitted the celery. I cooked it for about 30 minutes on 350. It was a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
798 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2003
I'm glad I didn't read the reviews before trying this dish! My mom and husband are veteran broccoli rice casserole lovers and thought this dish was exactly like it should be. It is a bland dish but that's what broccoli rice casseroles are. The only alteration I made was using milk instead of water and it turned out exactly as it should have. I, too, thought it was a bit runny before baking but Mom said, "it will bake fine," and it did. Personally, I like a more flavorful dish so next time, I will add seasoned salt and maybe some garlic. More traditional broccoli rice casserole lovers will want this recipe as is, though! Mama
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
504 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
For those complaining that this is bland, 1) IT'S BROCCOLI CHEESE CASSEROLE...not meant to be a symphony of flavors; 2) You see the ingredients. Anyone with half a brain can tell it's going to be bland and anyone with the other half would throw some garlic and/or spices in. There's no excuse for being surprised that it's bland. For those saying this is unsophisticated: IT'S BROCCOLI CHEESE CASSEROLE. Get off your high horse. Fact is that this is a perfect no-frills recipe that is perfect as-is or dolled up. You can sub wild rice or real cheddar (as I did), add spices, etc. It's a blank canvas; you bring the paint.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
372 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WATSONEA4

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seymour, Illinois, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2001
If yours turned out mushy or runny, it is because 15 minutes is definitely not long enough to cook it. It is a typo and should read 45 minutes. The correct cook time is noted at the top (Cook Time: 45 Minutes).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
365 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
Despite several decidedly strident reviews and two rather horrific admissions of forcing the casserole down the throats of family members and threatening an 8 year old child, I still felt this recipe had promise and gave it a try. It turned out to be a marvelous, homey side dish. I found it easy to prepare and only used two large pots for the preparation and I even doubled the recipe as I was making it for a church function. For those not cooking for a crowd or the starting line up of a professional football team, you will probably want to cut this recipe in half. I did find the directions to be a little vague. It should have specified that the rice measurement listed was uncooked and will yield 6 cups when prepared. Also the recipe calls for a "bunch" of celery, it should be one stalk, if an entire bunch were used the casserole would be inedible. The only real change I made was to top the dish with shredded cheddar. I live in the South and a casserole isn't a casserole without a crumb or cheese topping. This is a recipe that I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
288 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waynesboro, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Clemson, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2007
I prepared this recipe specifically because someone commented that it wasn't for the "sophisticated palate". As someone with a sophisticated palate but with a decidedly un-sophisticated budget, I found this recipe to be delicious, easy and worthy of making again. I hope the "sophisticated" person enjoys her lobsters and golf outings and leaves wonderful recipes like this one to those with "taste". :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
167 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
Even Mexican-style processed cheese for a little kick and fresh broccoli didn't redeem this bland, boring and uninspired dish. Definitely not for the sophisticated palate, so it might just be a real kid pleaser or for those placed on a soft and bland diet (in which case, stick to the plain cheese). Hubby and I would have much preferred a simple, steamed broccoli and a basic rice pilaf. Lots of bother for an unmemorable side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
110 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2002
I didn't quite understand the reason for all the water and actually didn't use any of it, nor did I use the processed cheese. Instead, I added the soups right from the cans along with shredded cheddar directly into the rice mixture and gradually added some milk and stirred until it reached a consistancy I was happy with. Along with some seasonings this dish was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2002
TASTY! Plus, very easy and quick to make. To make a complete meal, I added 1 lb of boiled/cooked cubed chicken. After boiling the chicken until cooked, I then fryed the cubes with a dash of lemon pepper seasoning and a dash of garlic powder. I then mixed it in with the rest of the casserole and topped it off with a cup of dried bread crumbs. The result was very satisfying and it makes alot! Thank you Gina for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2002
I made this recipe last night using my new Allrecipes cookbook. I wish I had read the reviews on the site before I began! However, after making the cheese sauce, common sense told me that there was WAY to much sauce for the amount of rice and broccoli. I doubled the rice and almost doubled the broccoli (used 2 16 oz. packages). The finished results were okay for my family - but certainly nothing I would serve for a special occasion. Still MORE THAN saucy and cheesy enough. I can't even IMAGINE making the recipe as printed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 530) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Broccoli Rice Casserole

See how to make a creamy, cheesy classic.

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Broccoli and Cauliflower Casserole

A creamy, cheesy rice and veggie dish topped with crushed buttery crackers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States