Broccoli Rice Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
For those of you considering making this, please take just a moment to watch the embedded video...it will clear up any confusion as to cooked or uncooked rice, etc. As a long-time Allrecipes user, I have found it quite beneficial to watch videos offered. I believe that had those reviewers done their due diligence prior to making this casserole, their rating would have been higher and their dinners better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KarenFWB

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
Super cheesy and delicious! My whole family is sick and we felt very comforted by this wholesomely good recipe. I used real uncooked rice (not instant). I cooked it in my rice steamer first. I also used a regular 16 oz block of cheese (cubed it myself). I only used 16oz of frozen broccoli. I did use a whole stalk of celery and that was fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
This is delicious! The only changes I made were that I cooked the onions and celery first and I used jasmine rice because I like it better than instant rice. I cooked it first, so i only baked it for about 30 minutes. My family loves this! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
Made with leftover steamed broccoli and only used cream of mushroom (all i had on hand). Was fantastic! Made half the recipe and it was a ton of food. Tho i wont mind the leftovers! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmwood Park, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Oakland, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
Use 2 cups real cooked rice no water and mix all together and bake in pam sprayed pam covered with foil 25 min and take foil off bake 5 more - perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arnandlor

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orangeville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
This was a good recipe to start with. I did make a few changes. I used one cup of white rice and two cups of Uncle Ben's wild rice (microwaveable package) which brings a lot more flavor to the dish. I completely omitted the celery and onion. I've made this a couple of times and found that it doesn't matter if you use milk or water it still comes out great! Finally, a 16oz package of American cheese slices works just as well. Just add a few at a time to the soup mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
add some curry powder and this dish will be the best you have ever had
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2012
Honestly.. I had to change this recipe completely. I used fresh broccoli stead of frozen. I used 1 cup of parboiled rice stead of 3. I chose to use make a white sauce of flour,butter,milk, salt and pepper and red pepper flakes. Before making the white sauce, I sauteed bacon and onions and 2 gloves of minced garlic to add flavor. I then added the cheese to the whole mixture and baked for half an hour at 375 degrees.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2012
Great! I substituted two medium size fresh broccoli heads, and also used 1 cup regular brown rice (cooked 30 minutes for rice)., and subbed milk for water. Very good recipe which can be modified
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
I am so Glad I found this recipe. Made it tonight for dinner. This recipe is my MIL"signature" dish. she brings it to every pot luck or BBQ. My kids love it and she won't give out the recipe. This is it. I left out the celery because I wanted it to be just like hers and she doesn't use it. Now I can make it anytime. thank you for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kat

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 71-80 (of 507) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli Rice Casserole

See how to make a creamy, cheesy classic.

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Broccoli and Cauliflower Casserole

A creamy, cheesy rice and veggie dish topped with crushed buttery crackers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States