Broccoli Rice Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
I've been making a variation of this recipe for over 30 years. Instead of Cheez Whiz, I use a can of cheddar cheese soup and 1 can of cream of mushroom soup. Then, I top the casserole with breadcrumbs before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
I made this recipe and followed the directions to a T. The broccoli was overcooked and the rice wasn't cooked at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
The recipe is good with the following changes... No onion, that's just gross.. I also added some diced up jalapeños (pickled) and jalapeño juice to give it a kick of spice. Also, I used Cream of Mushroom instead... All that combined came out pretty good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
I used 1/3 cup heavy cream and 2 cups sharp shredded cheddar instead of the Cheese Whiz. It was excellent! My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: St. Charles, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
Nothing against this particular recipe itself, I think my oven just HATE broccoli rice casserole. The last 2 times I've made it 2 different ways and it still ended up bland and too runny. Last time I also had a can of cream of mushroom, this time I only had the cream of chicken, I even left out the milk and it still ended badly. Maybe I'll try again when I live somewhere else w/ a different oven. I had even more than doubled the bake time. It just burned the edges and bottom. Never thickened the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JosShavaughn

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Nacogdoches, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
This dish was great! I don't like onions so I made it without. Instead of using cheese whiz I used velvetta. I served with a side of buttery flaky biscuits and this was very filling ! I would suggest this to anyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
Delicious and easy-the perfect complement to any meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
This turned out great! Very quick and easy to make & so yummy. I had to make a few modifications b/c I didn't have some ingredients (ex: I used onion powder, velveeta and mozzarella cheese).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RiRiFan10

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
I made several changes to this recipe and I give it a three because it gave me the general idea of what to do. I think 1/2 cup of butter is WAY too much and I don't see the need for adding milk. I also used cheddar cheese soup instead of the cheese whiz because I have never liked cheese whiz. It turned out pretty awesome. I do agree that it needs some kind of crunch -- I will be adding water chestnuts tonight when I make it again. I added: two cloves of garlic, more broccoli, I used brown rice instead of white and I also added in some shredded cheddar cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
made this several times and it always comes out delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Valdosta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

Chicken and Broccoli Alfredo

This dish is delicious, and so easy with Campbell's® Cream of Mushroom Soup.

How to Fix Burnt Sweet Potato Casserole

Topping burn on your sweet potato casserole? We’ve got just the fix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States