Broccoli Rice Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
I remember my grandma making a version of this growing up and I loved it! My biggest problem was the rice/cheese sauce ratio. It was way too saucy. If I try to make a broccoli rice casserole again I would use this as a base recipe and at least double the rice so it's a thicker dish. Don't cut back on the onion; it needs the whole onion for flavor. I think some garlic would help boost the flavor as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Willie Adama

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
This recipe is a good start. I thought the flavor of the condensed soup was very overpowering (maybe I didn't cook it down enough??). I don't like Cheez Whiz, so I substituted shredded Colby Jack (but I'm sure you can use whatever you have on hand). I do plan on making this again because it keeps well and lasted me through the week, but I will add a little half/half to the condensed soup mixture to bring the flavor down a bit and possibly add some shredded rotisserie chicken...we'll see. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NuCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
I wonder if I made it with grated cheddar and half a block of cream cheese and a can of Rotel-if it would add to the flavor many say is "bland". Definitely trying this recipe, with some additions, for our Thanksgiving get together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
I made this last year for Thanksgiving and was so happy i saved it so i can make it this year! Its delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2013
Made this last Thanksgiving and I will be making it again this year. My family loved it...I just need to add a little more salt and seasoning to it. Yeah baby. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Amarillo, Texas, USA
Living In: Meoqui, Chihuahua, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
I made this recipe with a few changes. I only used 1/2 a small onion. I used cream of chicken and broccoli cheese soup (Campbells) and I put sharp cheddar cheese on the top. This was delicious. I will definitely be making this again. Next time I may add a buttery crisp topping with crushed ritz crackers and melted butter. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
I made this for the first time for Thanksgiving last year. Everyone in my house hates green bean casserole, so I decided to try this as an alternative. It was so good I also made it as a side dish at Christmas and Easter. I use Cream of Celery Soup instead of Chicken, 1 cup of sour cream and a combination of cheddar and velveeta for the cheese. After I pour in the casserole dish, I make a crunchy topping out of one (1) sleeve of crushed ritz crackers mixed with 1 stick of melted butter. My whole family loves this, even my picky 11 year old. Great basic recipe that you can make your own!!! I will be making this again for the holidays this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crystal

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Owensboro, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
The best
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
This was soooo good! I used cream of mushroom soup & Velveeta in place of the cream of chicken & Cheez Wiz. We'll def be having this again. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
I made this spur of the moment. My husband totally loved in the pan and not in the oven yet. I did not leave in the oven for the full 30 minutes I think it would have been dry. I will try on my kids. Definitely making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

Chicken and Broccoli Alfredo

This dish is delicious, and so easy with Campbell's® Cream of Mushroom Soup.

How to Fix Burnt Sweet Potato Casserole

Topping burn on your sweet potato casserole? We’ve got just the fix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States