Broccoli Rabe with Portobello Mushroom Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 4, 2015
I made a half recipe and used broccolini because that's what I had on hand. I steamed it for 10 min and then transferred to a bowl of very cold water to stop the cooking and to keep the broccolini a bright green color. The stems were still fairly hard, but I went with that. In place of the portobellos I used white mushrooms and also added a pinch of red pepper flakes. I will make this again using the broccoli rabe! Thanks for the great recipe Miko!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
Best by far, simple magic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by steven checkman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
Used baby bellas instead and added red pepper. Definitely a fun, delicious combination to go with broccoli rabe. I liked it better than the plain garlic and olive oil version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
Super simple with great flavor!!! This is definitely going to be a "go to" side dish in my home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
I'm not one of those Italians who I hear considers broccoli rabe beloved, but preparing it like this could make me change my tune. To temper its bitterness I added some chopped red bell pepper which introduced some nice color too. For a little kick I added a pinch of crushed red pepper flakes. Use olive oil as needed; I'm sure it was difficult for the submitter to come up with a precise, one-size-fits-all amount when he wrote the recipe. I served this topped with beautiful seared dry-pack scallops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
Delicious. Enough said. Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
very tasty, I had to cook the mushrooms on medium though to get them done, maybe I chopped them too large
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Yorba Linda, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
1/2 cup of oil seemed like a lot to me, so I just used enough to coat the bottom of the pan, sauteed the onion/garlic, then added a little more before adding the mushroom and thyme. Serve with brown rice, it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
absolutely easy and excellent. great side dish, and unexpectedly flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
This had good flavors but the store didn't have very good broccoli rabe or any broccolini so I used what they had but I felt like it was lacking because of this. I will try again with some good rabe or broccolini next time as again I felt the flavor was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milford, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Maria's Broccoli Rabe

This easy, delicious vegetable side dish goes with practically anything.

Portobello Mushroom Burgers

See how to make the steak of veggie burgers!

Broccoli with Garlic Butter and Cashews

See how to make a simple broccoli side dish with garlic and cashews.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States