Broccoli Rabe and Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2007
My husband can't get enough of it! I did substitute the fennel sausage for Chicken sausage with dried tomato's. A awesome dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2008
This was excellent. I made only a few changes to turn it into a pasta dish, and it was the best supper we've had recently. I cooked radiatore pasta in salted water, saved the water for cooking the broccoli rabe, and set the pasta aside. I used hot ground Italian sausage and added a few teaspoons of fennel seed. I followed the rest of the directions as written and tossed the broccoli rabe and sausage with the pasta right before serving. My whole family raved, from my husband down to my 2-year-old son. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Antelope Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2008
I adapted this and also added cut up chicken which I cooked with the sausage. I had this at a restaurant and it is fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
my husbands favorite, I share it with family as if it was my own
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
This is our new favorite sausage recipe. It's so quick and easy. I use a teaspoon of oil to cook the sausage in, and then cook the broccoli in the sausage drippings. Garlic powder instead of cloves makes it even quicker, and there's no need for additional salt, as sausage is already pretty salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellieann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2002
My husband loved this dish. It was very easy. Next time, I won't boil the Broccoli Rabe for the whole 12 minutes. It seemed to get a little soggy. Next time I will only boil for 8 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
The recipe is good. The flavour is excellent...but I live in Mexico and we dont have lemon so I always use lime. The next time i will defintely cut the amount of lemon in half. Also had to use chorizo for the sausage, which turned out excellent. I served over bowtie pasta. even the kids liked it...but definitely have to cut the lemon in half
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Acapulco Tanja

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Acapulco, Guerrero, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
This was a great recipe idea. I too served it with pasta, long fusilli. I reserved all of the broccoli liquid(3 bunches) and served it at the end in a bowl with the pasta because the first time i made it i thought it was too dry when using pasta. I then topped it with toasted bread crumbs. I added 5 anchovies along with the garlic to give it even more flavor. I omitted the lemon from the pan and served lemon wedges on the table for my family to use as much or as little as they wanted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2011
You only need to blanch the Rabe for 2 minutes in salted water . Plunge in cold water and drain and squeeze most of the water out befor adding to skillit. The Rabe will not be mushy or watery when you do this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
Thought I made this up. Bought one bunch of broccoli rabe and had chicken apple sausage in the fridge. Sautéed the broccoli rabe in olive oil and garlic until it drooped. Removed and put in a bowl. Sautéed the chicken apple sausage with a splash of apple cider and apple cider vinegar until done and baked the combo in the oven at 350 for about 25 minutes. No salt, no anything because of health issues in my house. Will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Maria's Broccoli Rabe

This easy, delicious vegetable side dish goes with practically anything.

Classic Smoked Sausage & Peppers

Enjoy the bold, delicious flavors of smoked sausage and peppers.

Smoked Sausage with Potatoes & Sauerkraut

See how to put a modern smoked sausage twist on a classic German dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States