Broccoli Rabe and Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2002
My husband loved this dish. It was very easy. Next time, I won't boil the Broccoli Rabe for the whole 12 minutes. It seemed to get a little soggy. Next time I will only boil for 8 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2005
I modified this recipe to: rough chopped rabini stems and cooked for 6 minutes seperately from the green leafy part. I then rough chopped the green leafy part and blached in hot water. I thoroughly drained the rabini before adding into oil mixture. The result was a better looking dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2005
One more thing-broccoli rabe shrinks like crazy so you may want to double or triple the amount. If you have good eaters figure one bunch of cooked rabe per person, trust me it shrinks to nothing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2007
Rabe way too mushy, decintagrated by the end, Sauce was too liquidy ended up adding a little white wine to improve flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2007
My husband can't get enough of it! I did substitute the fennel sausage for Chicken sausage with dried tomato's. A awesome dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2008
This was excellent. I made only a few changes to turn it into a pasta dish, and it was the best supper we've had recently. I cooked radiatore pasta in salted water, saved the water for cooking the broccoli rabe, and set the pasta aside. I used hot ground Italian sausage and added a few teaspoons of fennel seed. I followed the rest of the directions as written and tossed the broccoli rabe and sausage with the pasta right before serving. My whole family raved, from my husband down to my 2-year-old son. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Antelope Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2008
I adapted this and also added cut up chicken which I cooked with the sausage. I had this at a restaurant and it is fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
The recipe is good. The flavour is excellent...but I live in Mexico and we dont have lemon so I always use lime. The next time i will defintely cut the amount of lemon in half. Also had to use chorizo for the sausage, which turned out excellent. I served over bowtie pasta. even the kids liked it...but definitely have to cut the lemon in half
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Acapulco Tanja

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Acapulco, Guerrero, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
This was a great recipe idea. I too served it with pasta, long fusilli. I reserved all of the broccoli liquid(3 bunches) and served it at the end in a bowl with the pasta because the first time i made it i thought it was too dry when using pasta. I then topped it with toasted bread crumbs. I added 5 anchovies along with the garlic to give it even more flavor. I omitted the lemon from the pan and served lemon wedges on the table for my family to use as much or as little as they wanted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
A good way to use up broccoli rabe and other greens. I added a bunch of kale and a pinch of red pepper flakes, and used spicy Italian sausage. This was a tasty and nourishing dinner and would be great over brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emarika

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Maria's Broccoli Rabe

This easy, delicious vegetable side dish goes with practically anything.

Easy Broccoli Salad

Watch Chef John make an easy, healthy broccoli side dish.

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States