Broccoli Rabe and Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
Thought I made this up. Bought one bunch of broccoli rabe and had chicken apple sausage in the fridge. Sautéed the broccoli rabe in olive oil and garlic until it drooped. Removed and put in a bowl. Sautéed the chicken apple sausage with a splash of apple cider and apple cider vinegar until done and baked the combo in the oven at 350 for about 25 minutes. No salt, no anything because of health issues in my house. Will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
This is our new favorite sausage recipe. It's so quick and easy. I use a teaspoon of oil to cook the sausage in, and then cook the broccoli in the sausage drippings. Garlic powder instead of cloves makes it even quicker, and there's no need for additional salt, as sausage is already pretty salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellieann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
my husbands favorite, I share it with family as if it was my own
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
This is a great meal when dieting! Instead of boiling in water I simmer broccoli rabe in low sodium beef broth with some garlic cloves. This enhances flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AllieGeekPi
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
I made a variation of ths. I never boil broccoli rabe. First I cook the sausage. Then I put the broccoli rabe in the skillet with a quarter to half cup of water cover and cook until it reduces -- around 5 minutes. Thanks ELEANOR1052.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
This is a quick and easy dish, and can be healthy too. I steamed the broccoli rabe for 5 minutes (in two batches) and then cooked it with chicken sausage. I added a little organic low-sodium chicken broth to the frying pan instead of water. I also added a little minced onion for extra flavor. My husband and I absolutely loved it! This recipe is a keeper. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2011
You only need to blanch the Rabe for 2 minutes in salted water . Plunge in cold water and drain and squeeze most of the water out befor adding to skillit. The Rabe will not be mushy or watery when you do this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2010
With two bunches of rabe and although only boiled for 8 minutes still a mushy mess. Good flavor although chard or kale would probably hold up better. Will try again with no boiling but sauteing instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by terry ny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
Great flavor, but a little too watery. My spouse thought that the rabe was "mushy" like cooked spinach and didn't care for the texture. I would perhaps try just boiling to al dente, chop up the broccoli rabe before sauteeing, and add 1/2 the water and see how that goes. The lemon was a nice touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
A good way to use up broccoli rabe and other greens. I added a bunch of kale and a pinch of red pepper flakes, and used spicy Italian sausage. This was a tasty and nourishing dinner and would be great over brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emarika

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Maria's Broccoli Rabe

This easy, delicious vegetable side dish goes with practically anything.

Broccoli with Garlic Butter and Cashews

See how to make a simple broccoli side dish with garlic and cashews.

Easy Broccoli Salad

Watch Chef John make an easy, healthy broccoli side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States