Broccoli Quiche with Mashed Potato Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2006
Delicious!!! I think the key to getting the potato crust to be more like a crust is to bake it on the bottom rack in your oven. A couple of minor changes I made was I used 4 eggs instead of 3, I am SURE I didn't use a full cup of milk (probably more like 1/2 cup), and no nutmeg. I used a little bit of garlic powder in the eggs along with the salt and pepper. It was SO good!! You could really change this up a lot with different cheeses and veggies. My 2.5 and 3.5 year olds LOVED this!! I was so surpised! And my choosy husband said I should definitely make this again. I think it's a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2002
This was very nice for something different. To make sure the crust held up, I added 1 egg and a scant tablespoon of flour to the mashed potato crust. It gave it enough body to hold its shape whrn serving a slice. I also sauteed the onions in a tiny amount of olive oil, as someone suggested. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2002
A typical quiche recipe, however, the potato crust is what makes it a welcome change. To save on time, I used Betty Crocker's garlic instant mashed potatoes and baked the crust without the filling for about fifteen minutes, to avoid the soggy bottom crust other reviewers mentioned. I left out the nutmeg, but used a little onion and garlic powder, along with a dash of cayenne for a bit of zip. I've made this with both broccoli and spinach. Hubby and my non egg eating kids loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2002
I liked this recipe because I some how always have leftover mashed potatoes. I did listen to other reviews & change it . I used leftover yukon golds that already had butter & milk & added 1 egg , 1T flour, &1/3c half-n-half to get it all really smooth along with garic salt to taste. I baked for the 30 mintes until edge only was brown . I omitted Broccoli & made "denver" style . I sauted onion, mushroom and green pepper. I mixed eggs with half-n-half , changed salt to garlic salt & tossed in the ham , Pepper & nutmeg. Baked 35 and let set. My family ate the whole thing. Anna H.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2007
I thought that this was very good. I did follow the recipe for the most part. We had it as a side dish to pork last night, and the leftovers came to work with me today for my breakfast. I added paprika to the top. I also added an extra egg for a total of 4, and I think maybe next time I'll do 5 eggs. I didn't even taste the nutmeg. Next time I'm thinking a different type of cheese and mixture, such as swiss and maybe a little bit of garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Leominster, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LUMINARA
Reviewed: May 4, 2006
This is a fine recipe. The whole family liked it. But I would do two things differently next time around. #1) omit the nutmeg entirely. It made the quiche taste a little off. Did not match the flow of flavors at all. #2) add more cheese. Quiche was a bit too dry for my taste. With these two little tweaks, the recipe will be flawless! Don't forget to be creative and add different vegetables to the mix from time to time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Alicia
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2008
I love this quiche. I use the leftover mashed potatoes that I buy in a tub. Any flavor is great!! I also add whatever is in the fridge and it is always amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alicia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Hanover, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Boca Raton, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2002
I loved this quiche! I thought this was a great way to use leftover mashed potatoes. I stir fried mushrooms, broccoli, cauliflower and onions and put them all on the quiche. I also substituted soy milk (which I don't really like, but I use it in recipes like this for health reasons) and it came out great. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2002
I used a little less broccoli and added some sauted mushrooms to the mix. It took me about 45 minutes to brown the potatoe crust, but worth it. It is a long process to make the meal, but you can steam the broccoli at the same time you make the potatoes, and when those are baking, I made the egg/milk mixture and set aside in the fridge until I was ready to put it all together. All the steps were easy, just time consuming, but you can clean up in between each and at the end it is all in one dish. I made this for only myself and my husband, and we devoured more than half at dinner and reheated the rest for lunch the next day. A few minutes to heat through in the toaster oven, and it was almost better the second day! It really hit the spot!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2002
I added ham, it was excellent. Even my boys ate it of 5, 4 and 1.5. Everyone loved it. A huge success and so easy to put together. I actually used the packaged mashed potatoes instead of making my own to decrease the time to create, just upped the calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Broccoli Quiche

You won’t believe how easy, and delicious, this vegetarian quiche is.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

How to Make Mashed Potatoes

Discover the best way to make light, creamy mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States