Broccoli Quiche with Mashed Potato Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2006
I tried this recipe as a dinner dish. Worked out pretty good, but I did make a few modifications. I added about 2 tablespoons of onion and chive cream cheese when mashing the potatoes and it was awesome. I also put some parsley and parmesan cheese in the egg mixture. The only problems I had with this recipe was that I made it for the first time in an oven I am not used to! My husband chowed down!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEEADRA

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Clio, Michigan, USA
Living In: Misawa, Aomori, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2006
I used brocoflower because the supermarket ran out of brocoli but still tasted great. Easy to make too. Taste good using frozen broccoli too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by phuong

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2006
Delicious!!! I think the key to getting the potato crust to be more like a crust is to bake it on the bottom rack in your oven. A couple of minor changes I made was I used 4 eggs instead of 3, I am SURE I didn't use a full cup of milk (probably more like 1/2 cup), and no nutmeg. I used a little bit of garlic powder in the eggs along with the salt and pepper. It was SO good!! You could really change this up a lot with different cheeses and veggies. My 2.5 and 3.5 year olds LOVED this!! I was so surpised! And my choosy husband said I should definitely make this again. I think it's a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dreygan
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2006
Very good recipe! I did take a few of the suggestions in the reviews, such as adding an egg and about a tablespoon of flour to the mashed potatoes to help them get firm. They did get pretty firm, and a little crispy on the edges. I used only 1 cup broccoli and then 1 cup of red and green peppers for a little more variety. Also grilled the onions (and did the peppers just a little) to make them a little more tender. I left out the nutmeg just cause i dont have any and it sounded a little funny... my mom said i would like it in there, so i might try it some other time. As a whole it was very good, next time i might add a little garlic salt or garlic powder to kinda add some extra flavor, but will DEFINATLY make this again. OH... and my girlfriend thought i should add more cheese or mix the cheese in more with the veggies (i had sprinkled it over the top of them after laying them out and before pouring the eggs over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dreygan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2006
...I tried this recipe because I liked the idea of a potato crust..I used 10 small peeled red potatoes and proceeded as written...The first thing you taste is the crunchy broccoli (small dice) and the egg..next I could taste the potato crust(crunchy on the edges more mashed in the center). Fairly good flavor..will try this again with more seasoning and cheese...thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LPHILLIPS9

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LUMINARA
Reviewed: May 4, 2006
This is a fine recipe. The whole family liked it. But I would do two things differently next time around. #1) omit the nutmeg entirely. It made the quiche taste a little off. Did not match the flow of flavors at all. #2) add more cheese. Quiche was a bit too dry for my taste. With these two little tweaks, the recipe will be flawless! Don't forget to be creative and add different vegetables to the mix from time to time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2006
This is absolutely easy to make and has great taste! Everyone was impressed by it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mache_ng

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Jose, San Jose , Costa Rica

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2006
This a great recipe! My Dad is an 81 yr old picky eater and gluten intolerate. Which makes finding tasteful affordable food very difficult. This recipe is a blessing! It has all the ingredients he loves it tastes great and no wheat! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2006
Easy and healthy. Try adding sweet potatos with the regular nes for more color and taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2006
This is a great stick-to-your-ribs kind of meal that will keep you going all day long. Great flavor, but I would halve the onion amount and double the cheddar cheese, maybe add some red peppers or tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Gurnee, Illinois, USA
Living In: Burlingame, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 153) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

How to Make Mashed Potatoes

Discover the best way to make light, creamy mashed potatoes.

Ultimate Mashed Potatoes

Discover the simple secret to the most amazing holiday mashers ever.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States