Broccoli Quiche with Mashed Potato Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
This is a time consuming recipe. However, the quiche is delicious and it is worth giving some efforts to make it. You can also twist this recipe easily by adding any vegetables you like. I like adding mushrooms and carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kahori526

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
This is a lovely change from the classic pie shell quiche. I baked the crust a bit longer than written and added a bit more cheese. It was a hit with my family and at the party I took it to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 3Gs4Me

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
This was so good! I got lots of compliments and was bummed that there were no leftovers when I took it to New Years brunch. Instead of making the mashed potatoes from scratch, I used the garlic & herb flavor Oreida Steam & Mash that you can find in the freezer section. I'm not a big broccoli fan, so substituted a 10oz pkg of frozen chopped spinach (thawed) and a pkg of pre-sliced mushrooms. I sauteed the mushrooms with the onion. I also am not a big fan of cheddar and so used 1 cup of pre-shredded italian blend cheese, and also added 1/2 cup of feta. I also used a 4th egg as mentioned in some of the other reviews. My only complaint was that I didn't spread the mashed potato evenly in the pie pan. I had it thicker on the bottom than on the sides, so the sides got burnt before the bottom was done when I was baking the crust. I just cut off the burnt part though and no one even noticed that the side crust was missing. It was so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
I had leftover mashed potatoes from Thanksgiving that I used to make this recipe. After pre-baking the potatoes for 30 minutes, they were slightly browned. However, after adding the filling ingredients, and baking for 45 minutes, the bottom was not crispy. It did not affect the taste whatsoever, as the recipe is still delicious. The crust more blended with the filling rather than being a separate entity, like a typical pie crust. It's a great way to use leftover mashed potatoes and is very flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
Interesting variation on a traditional crust. In the future I will probably add some additional spices to the crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
Yum! I used egg substitute instead (3/4 cup), and shallots in place of the onion. I also added some roasted corn. I didn't have enough mashed potatoes for a full crust, so I used a square baking pan instead of a pie plate for a bottom crust. It came out nicely, is easy to serve, and I can see doubling this recipe and baking it in a 13x9 pan to take to a brunch potluck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Urbana, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
This is delicious! My 18 month old loved it too. Now I have a great way to get her to eat eggs! I added an extra egg and used instant mashed potatoes with some garlic powder. Fresh garlic in the quiche filling. Didn't have any onions so I used dried onion flakes. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2008
Yum. Thank you. I really liked the potato crust as a base to this. Will make & take for Holiday brunches. I altered just a bit but stayed all over true to recipe. My husband is a huge Garlic/Fresh Peppercorn/onion fan so I add them to almost everything I make. I did 2 garlic cloves (pressed) into mashed potato crust. Altered recipe by one small yellow onion, 2 eggs and 1 egg white (instead of 3 eggs)sauteed sliced mushrooms as well to broccoli mix. It is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2008
This is a very good basic quiche recipe. I made it once as written. The last time I made it I used more broccoli (3 cups), cheese (1.5 cups) and 4 eggs. If you are on a tight budget this recipe is very good as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ? allyson ?

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2008
Great recipe and very easy to make. I did add 2 extra eggs & extra cheese. My husband really loved it and I'll definately make this again. Great recipe for leftovers. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Broccoli Quiche

You won’t believe how easy, and delicious, this vegetarian quiche is.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

How to Make Mashed Potatoes

Discover the best way to make light, creamy mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States