Broccoli Quiche with Mashed Potato Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
All the other reviews are really good, I don't know why this just didnt turn out the same for me. 1st, the middle was still liquid-y after being in the oven for 50 mins, even though the recipe calls for 30-40 min. The top of the "crust" was getting burnt so I couldnt cook it anymore. Then, the crust never hardened. So when putting on plates it just came out like a casserole. Not a quiche type dish. And for us, there wasn't much flavor. Most of the flavor came from the bites with a lot of cheese in them. I don't have a steamer for the broccoli so I put them in a microwave safe bowl and covered the top with a paper plate. I also added a large dollop of butter to the broccoli and cooked in the microwave for 2 mins. This made them come out a lot better to me, than just cooking them without butter. I also omitted the nutmeg and added garlic powder instead. But I still couldnt taste much in the line of seasonings. I have no idea why this turned out so bad for me when most other reviews are practically 4-5 stars. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
This was wonderful...not a crumb left! The only change I made was to use Monterey Jack/Colby cheese instead of cheddar because we are not big plain cheddar fans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2010
What a great way to use leftovers! Last night I had baked potatoes and broccoli, and this afternoon I enjoyed them in a whole different way. I DID make some substitutions (because of what I had on hand). I used mushrooms, chopped up small but raw, instead of onions and parmesan instead of cheddar. I also added garlic salt instead of nutmeg. It came out even better than I expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alison

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
This was great, however I think next time I will make half of the mashed potatoes because I wanted more filling and I didn't have a deep dish pie plate so once I got it all together it was overflowing! Made a few changes... added mushrooms, feta cheese, and and extra egg. Definitely a keeper. Next time I will load it with more veggies. Oh and I used rice milk and it worked fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
A good way to use left overs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
This was good. I cooked a couple links of Italian sweet sausage and half a red pepper with the onion. The flavors were about the same as a potato fritata, which is much easier and quicker to make. But I'll probably make it again because my husband loved it. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2010
I was struggling to find a recipe to use for a Passover seder that I could also use to satisfy my vegetarian parents. This was delicious! I was pressed for time so I used Simply Potatoes for the crust. I think they were too mushy though and even with extra time the crust never got crispy. It held the filler though and everyone really enjoyed it. It was more like a mashed potato dish than a quiche but it was a hit as my main vegetarian fare!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
YUM YUM YUM! Wow, the potatoes really did it! I used instant spuds, but they were "high quality" instant spuds. 2 C of that to make the crust, which I also had to bake for about 40 minutes. In the egg mixture my only changes were: I used 1/2C milk (1%), 4 eggs (egg beaters), no onion, colby jack shredded cheese instead of cheddar, and I used garlic instead of nutmeg. So, they were pretty simple changes, and the dish was just amazing! Hubby and I had a hard time stopping eating. This WILL be made again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
This was really tasty. My crust didn't really get crusty but that's probably because I skipped the "brush with olive oil" step since I didn't have any. Still delicious though. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
This is a great recipe, however I do agree with others that 5 eggs, and extra cheese makes it better. I also left out the nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 153) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ultimate Mashed Potatoes

Discover the simple secret to the most amazing holiday mashers ever.

Make-Ahead Mashed Potatoes

Make the holidays easier on yourself with mashers you make ahead of time.

Slow Cooker Mashed Potatoes

See how to make creamy mashed potatoes in the Crockpot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States