Broccoli Quiche with Mashed Potato Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
This recipe was really good - a nice twist on the typical quiche, and healthier too! I put my own little twist on it and added spicy turkey sausage, red peppers, and broccoli, as well as light cheddar cheese. I also used egg whites and 2 eggs to cut down on some fat - and used salt only in the potatoes. In the eggs i added some Mrs.Dash spice and pepper - added some different flavours and cut down on the sodium! I also left out the nutmeg.. I also baked it on the bottom rack to help the potatoes be more of a "crust" than a mash - but next time I would try what another reviewer had mentioned and bake the crust for 15 min prior to making the dish to help the consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
I left out the nutmeg, based on reviews. I loved this and my boyfriend, who isn't a broccoli fan, had seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
Turned out great! I used red bliss mashed potatoes for the crust. Also, I had an array of fresh veggies so I reduced the amount of broccoli and added squash, peppers, and leaks to the other ingredients. As others suggested I used 4 eggs instead of 3. Also, used cheddar cheese and smoked Gouda and then sprinkled grated parmigian on the top. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erika Strasser

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
Not bad. For the texture of the mashed potatoes I made sure there were some small chucks of potatoes in the mix this help with the crust structure. After baking the mashed potato crust for 30 minutes, I added steamed broccoli, cooked bacon chunks, onions and garlic and cheese. With three eggs and a 1/2 cup of milk. I baked the mixture covered with tin foil for 20 minutes and then baked uncovered for another 30 minutes. It was good dish, something different to add to the usual dinner menu. However it did take a long time almost an hour and half baking time not including prep time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
My husband and I ate this entire thing in less than 24 hours... it is delicious. Also, I used the crust idea from this recipe to fix-up the quiche in another recipe... made this one with mushrooms and sundried tomatoes as suggested by one of the reviews. Used 6 eggs and had a little left that wouldn't fit in my dish. It is so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Estee Fraser (Pinchasin)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, New York, USA
Living In: Dupont, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
This was really good. I only had a 9x9 layer cake pan, so I only used 2 eggs and 2/3 cup of milk. I added chives and parsley to potatoes. It was even better reheated the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
Not a keeper. It was good but there are better things you can do with those ingredients
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
needs tweaking
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Marcos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
I'm sorry, but this recipe did not work for me. The combined textures and flavors of the quiche over the mashed potatoes was very unpleasant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EACline

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
Fantastic. I made a cheez-it crust instead to add extra flavor, came out great! (put 2 cups of cheez-its, I used the white cheddar kind, in the food processor with 4 tablespoons of butter)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 153) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

How to Make Mashed Potatoes

Discover the best way to make light, creamy mashed potatoes.

Ultimate Mashed Potatoes

Discover the simple secret to the most amazing holiday mashers ever.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States