Broccoli Quiche with Mashed Potato Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2002
I didn't really like this recipe. I doubled it so that I could get rid of some broccoli. I think I put too much on it. My parents loved it though. I guess I'll have to keep making it. Maybe if I don't add so much broccoli next time, it won't be as bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2002
I think this would have been more successful if I had not used skim milk, if I had baked the crust longer, and if I had spiced it up even more. It was just very bland and the crust was mushy on the bottom, even though I baked it for 45 minutes, until the upper part was very hard and brown. I used 3 potatoes, and I had enough for two quiches so I doubled the filling. I also added sauted mushrooms to the filling, and garlic powder to the crust. I didn't mind the length of time it took (it was definitely 2 hours for me) since I could be doing other things while it cooked. Just leave plenty of time. I may try it again sometime, but no plans to do so soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2002
I didn't use the quiche recipe, but I made the mashed potato crust for my quiche. Everyone enjoyed it, and it was very unique.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2002
A very tasty, successful quiche. I don't know if it would have filled a '10" deep pan', though, as my dish was barely 9" and it *just* filled it. My decidedly finicky boyfriend pronounced it 'delicious' - several times! The crust was very like mashed potato; no crispiness, and didn't hold together, though I think this would be greatly improved if I had a metal pie dish instead of a pottery one; will update when I've bought one and tried it again!! Recommended variations: a teaspoon of wholegrain mustard added to the crust; 4-8 rashers of smoked bacon, fried in their own fat, drained and mixed in with the broccoli (non-veggie version, obviously...)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2002
Because of my heart, I used soy milk, veggie shreds chedder soy cheese, and egg beaters. I was totally happy. The second time that I made it I was in a hurry, so I used powdered potatoes, and it was just as scrumptious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2002
my one daughter loved it the younger one did not i also loved it.i will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kings Park, New York, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2002
I used a little less broccoli and added some sauted mushrooms to the mix. It took me about 45 minutes to brown the potatoe crust, but worth it. It is a long process to make the meal, but you can steam the broccoli at the same time you make the potatoes, and when those are baking, I made the egg/milk mixture and set aside in the fridge until I was ready to put it all together. All the steps were easy, just time consuming, but you can clean up in between each and at the end it is all in one dish. I made this for only myself and my husband, and we devoured more than half at dinner and reheated the rest for lunch the next day. A few minutes to heat through in the toaster oven, and it was almost better the second day! It really hit the spot!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2002
I thought this was an excellent quiche, very easy to make. It does take awhile, so start it early to have it ready on time. My 1 year old son just gobbled it up :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2002
To save time I used flavored instant mashed potatoes (we love garlic!). I made 2 cups of instant spuds, and it was more than I needed. Next time I'll use a cup. Added mushrooms the first time I made it, and ham the second time. I received rave reviews !!! My husband went back for thirds! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2002
This quiche was very good. I ended up using three potatoes instead of two. I found it a bit difficult to remove from the quiche pan as the mashed potatoes were not as firm as a normal pie would be. I was also a bit more generous with the salt and sauteed the onions beforehand. Generally a good recipe, but next time I think I will stick with the regular crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 153) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ultimate Mashed Potatoes

Discover the simple secret to the most amazing holiday mashers ever.

Make-Ahead Mashed Potatoes

Make the holidays easier on yourself with mashers you make ahead of time.

Slow Cooker Mashed Potatoes

See how to make creamy mashed potatoes in the Crockpot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States