Broccoli Quiche with Mashed Potato Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2002
I loved this quiche! I thought this was a great way to use leftover mashed potatoes. I stir fried mushrooms, broccoli, cauliflower and onions and put them all on the quiche. I also substituted soy milk (which I don't really like, but I use it in recipes like this for health reasons) and it came out great. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2002
This was very nice for something different. To make sure the crust held up, I added 1 egg and a scant tablespoon of flour to the mashed potato crust. It gave it enough body to hold its shape whrn serving a slice. I also sauteed the onions in a tiny amount of olive oil, as someone suggested. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2002
A nice, low-fat version of quiche. I left the skins on the potatoes, and that turned out well. I also used Yukon Gold potatoes, which are more flavorable. Plus I used non-fat soy cheese for half of the cheese, to reduce fat. I find soy cheese has a better texture than low-fat regular cheese when melted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2002
A typical quiche recipe, however, the potato crust is what makes it a welcome change. To save on time, I used Betty Crocker's garlic instant mashed potatoes and baked the crust without the filling for about fifteen minutes, to avoid the soggy bottom crust other reviewers mentioned. I left out the nutmeg, but used a little onion and garlic powder, along with a dash of cayenne for a bit of zip. I've made this with both broccoli and spinach. Hubby and my non egg eating kids loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2002
This quiche was pleasing, but I wouldn't rave about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2002
My family loves this recipe! I made it lower fat by using skim milk, olive oil spray, and fat-free cheddar cheese. We made it for a bridal shower brunch, and all of it went!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2002
I didn't really like this recipe. I doubled it so that I could get rid of some broccoli. I think I put too much on it. My parents loved it though. I guess I'll have to keep making it. Maybe if I don't add so much broccoli next time, it won't be as bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2002
I think this would have been more successful if I had not used skim milk, if I had baked the crust longer, and if I had spiced it up even more. It was just very bland and the crust was mushy on the bottom, even though I baked it for 45 minutes, until the upper part was very hard and brown. I used 3 potatoes, and I had enough for two quiches so I doubled the filling. I also added sauted mushrooms to the filling, and garlic powder to the crust. I didn't mind the length of time it took (it was definitely 2 hours for me) since I could be doing other things while it cooked. Just leave plenty of time. I may try it again sometime, but no plans to do so soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2002
I didn't use the quiche recipe, but I made the mashed potato crust for my quiche. Everyone enjoyed it, and it was very unique.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2002
A very tasty, successful quiche. I don't know if it would have filled a '10" deep pan', though, as my dish was barely 9" and it *just* filled it. My decidedly finicky boyfriend pronounced it 'delicious' - several times! The crust was very like mashed potato; no crispiness, and didn't hold together, though I think this would be greatly improved if I had a metal pie dish instead of a pottery one; will update when I've bought one and tried it again!! Recommended variations: a teaspoon of wholegrain mustard added to the crust; 4-8 rashers of smoked bacon, fried in their own fat, drained and mixed in with the broccoli (non-veggie version, obviously...)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Broccoli Quiche

You won’t believe how easy, and delicious, this vegetarian quiche is.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

How to Make Mashed Potatoes

Discover the best way to make light, creamy mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States